Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Japanese Traditional Performing Arts Show in Gion, Kyoto (18:00/19:00 Performance)

Reviews of Japanese Traditional Performing Arts Show in Gion, Kyoto (18:00/19:00 Performance)

4.3Based on 36 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after joining this tour.

Score Breakdown

Destination(s) : 4.6 Food : 4.0
Schedule : 4.4 Lodgings : 4.3
Guide : 4.2 Other : 4.1

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Coastal Pippy

Ms. / 60+ / Australia

Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : - Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 04 Oct 2019 Tour Date 14 Sep 2019


Brilliant showcase of Traditional Japanese Arts. Approximately 10 minutes for each performance highlighted a Tea Ceremony, Japanese Harp, Flower Arrangement, Court Music, Comic Play, Kyoto Style Dance & Puppet Play. Our only slight disappointment was we thought there was going to be two Maiko perform and there was only one. She was amazing though!

マテオ

Mr. / 20-29 / Switzerland

Solo Traveler

4.3
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 3.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : -
Reviewed 14 Jun 2019 Tour Date 13 Jun 2019


The shows gives a very short insight into japanese traditions and old entertainment. It is a been there seen that experience.

Traditional Arts Show

Mr. / 30-39 / New Zealand

Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 01 Jun 2019 Tour Date 23 May 2019


This is a great show if you have limited time and budget in Kyoto. It's about an hour show that includes a tea ceremony, a performance from a Maiko, and an entertaining Kyogen. Try to get there early as the seats are on 'first come, first serve' basis. There is an English booklet available to describe each segment.

Leo

Mr. / 60+ / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 06 May 2019 Tour Date 03 May 2019


Great show to introduce first time visitors to performing arts of Japan

ARAG

Mr. / 60+ / Canada

Couple

1.0
Destination(s) : - Food : -
Schedule : - Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : 1.0
Reviewed 05 May 2019 Tour Date 03 May 2019


Hoaky, very touristy, one geisha dance for 5 mins.

Jini

Mr. / 30-39 / United Arab Emirates

Couple

4.0
Destination(s) : - Food : -
Schedule : 4.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 19 Apr 2019 Tour Date 10 Apr 2019


The show was great. We were early & the first few in the queue. There were people buying tickets on the spot. Since we have booked in advance and paid for it with Japanican, we were only there to collect the tickets. However, our names were not on the list. It took at least about 20 minutes for them to issue us our tickets. By then, the people behind us were already in the theatre. So, we did not get the front row seats. We were in the 4th row despite buying tickets in advance with Japanican and being there early.

Moreno

Mr. / 20-29 / Belgium

Couple

4.5
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 4.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 01 Mar 2019 Tour Date 16 Feb 2019


Brief presentation of Japanese traditional arts.
Music performance and thee ceremony were at the same moment, so it was hard to enjoy them both. For us it wasn't much of a problem since we booked a private thee ceremony experience earlier that day.
Puppet show was cancelled, but we were offered a picture with two Maiko's.
Overall a great show with good value.

PD

Mr. / 50-59 / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 12 Oct 2018


Without a doubt worth the visit and wished it had lasted longer. Show explained in English. Open seating, so those in first get to select but great view no matter no matter where you sit. I would to see again

MaryR

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Solo Traveler

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : - Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 15 Sep 2018


The show is entirely in Japanese, but there is an English explanation before each segment. If you want to get good seats, I recommend getting there as early as you can.

nfarahs

Ms. / 20-29 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : -
Reviewed 12 Aug 2018


Love the performance and I think it was an interesting cultural introduction to Japanese arts. :)

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: