Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site.


SHORYUDO 3-Day Highway Bus Pass: Takayama, Shirakawago & Kanazawa Course

Reviews of SHORYUDO 3-Day Highway Bus Pass: Takayama, Shirakawago & Kanazawa Course

3.8Based on 392 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after joining this tour.

Score Breakdown

Destination(s) : 4.4 Food : 3.7
Schedule : 3.9 Lodgings : 3.7
Guide : 3.4 Other : 3.7

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Toon

Mr. / 50-59 / Thailand

Couple

4.5
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 4.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 29 Jul 2019 Tour Date 25 Jul 2019


Very good, convenience,accurate time for travel, feel safety, the bus clean , the staff at every station Meitetsu staff can speak English and good advice in booking, even the bus driver also can speak English too. Next time I gonna use the Shoryudo for traveling again. *****

Brian.W

Mr. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Married Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 19 May 2019 Tour Date 16 May 2019


Overall a hassle free experience in exchanging the ticket and travelling with the pass. Must make early booking for next destination.

Ed

Mr. / 40-49 / Philippines

Family with Young Children

4.0
Destination(s) : 4.0 Food : -
Schedule : 4.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 05 Jan 2019


Difficult to get the right schedule. Have to buy a Shinkansen train ticket from Nagoya to Takayama in order not to lose 1 day. Hope they have online bus booking in order to make reservation in advance and plan trip properly.

James

Mr. / 50-59 / Canada

Couple

4.3
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : 4.0
Schedule : 4.0 Lodgings : 4.0
Guide : 5.0 Other : 4.0
Reviewed 09 Nov 2018


This pass is very valuable and works well during non-peak time three day visit to the region. Note that airport train to Nagoya main terminal round tickets are included and must be used within 3 calendar days as well. Train has different category and there is additional charges (~360 yen) if reservation required train is used. Transit staff doesn’t explain and it’s travellers responsibility to pay extra when the train requires reservations. It’s a bit confusing.

Pearl

Ms. / Under 20 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

4.7
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 4.0 Other : -
Reviewed 30 Oct 2018


Easy to use and well worth the money, we landed in Nagoya and collected the pass from there. I actually called from Singapore in advance to reserve seats and made adjustments twice. It appeared that not all adjustments were captured! I think it's better that you just call in once or they will get a little confused. For Shirakawa, make sure you reserve your return seats; if you didn't manage to reserve ahead of time, try queuing and there are often people who didn't turn up for their seats. We used the pass from Chubu airport to Nagoya station, from Nagoya to Takayama, from Takayama to Shirakawa and from there to Kanazawa.

al

Ms. / 40-49 / Brunei Darussalam

Solo Traveler

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 06 Jun 2018


easy to use

Joey

Ms. / 60+ / United States of America

Family with Older Children

1.0
Destination(s) : - Food : -
Schedule : - Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : 1.0
Reviewed 12 Nov 2017


Not a reasonable or good deal. You need to book the seat before you get on, but have to be sure it is not packed. Each city or area can confirmed their own seat capacity while the next one or connection is up in the air. With a schedule and hotel already booked ahead, this is very "iffy" situation to be in.

PengN

Mr. / 20-29 / Philippines

Family with Older Children

4.3
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : 4.0
Schedule : 4.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 19 Oct 2017


Recommended. Gives great value, you can recoup total value of pass with 3 bus rides. We used this for a Nagoya - Shirakawago - Takayama - Nagoya 1-day trip. The Gifu countryside and mountains were amazing, and we'd like to have an extended stay in the old towns some day, using the pass again. Just make sure to book bus schedules as soon as you land in Japan.

Flooh

Ms. / Under 20 / Singapore

Married Couple

2.0
Destination(s) : - Food : -
Schedule : - Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : 2.0
Reviewed 14 Mar 2017


Whilst this pass is value for money, it is good only if your timings/departure days to the various destinations are flexible as reservation can only be made at the departure points. Unfortunately when I made my reservation for seats from Meitetsu Nagoya to Takayama and Shirakawago to Nagoya for the day that I wanted to depart, all timings were full, and this is despite the fact that I actually reserved four days in advance of the intended departure date. Fortunately I had a couple of open days which allowed me to re-schedule my trip, otherwise it's ¥7000 down the drain. It is basically pointless in buying this ticket not knowing if there are seats available for the dates and times that you want.
That aside, the rest were quite smooth - easy exchange of vouchers, on-time departures and arrivals.

Connie

Ms. / 40-49 / Australia

Married Couple

3.0
Destination(s) : 4.0 Food : -
Schedule : 2.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 12 Mar 2017


Good destinations, however, no seats reservation (booking online) is a big issue. When we arrived at Shirakawago at 10:40am and try to book two seats from Shirakawago to Kanazawa, and all seats after 12pm are fully booked. The counter staff can only suggest to take book the seats from Shirakawago to other location, and get JR back to Kanazawa. Will not suggest anyone use it unless you have full flexibility with your travel plan and be prepare to pay extra fees on the other transportation.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: