Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site.


1-Day Kyoto Tour (With National Government Licensed English Guide Interpreter)

Reviews of 1-Day Kyoto Tour (With National Government Licensed English Guide Interpreter)

4.2Based on 129 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after joining this tour.

Score Breakdown

Destination(s) : 4.6 Food : 3.3
Schedule : 4.2 Lodgings : 4.6
Guide : 4.3 Other : 4.3

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Magic

Mr. / 50-59 / Canada

Family with Older Children

1.5
Destination(s) : 3.0 Food : 1.0
Schedule : 1.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 1.0 Other : -
Reviewed 21 Apr 2018


Actually food should get negative 5 stars. Most revolting food ever. Tour was a total rip off. Morning guide was terrible, poor time management and really didn't have much to say at all. The only bright side, was the afternoon guide. She was knowledgeable and provided our group with additional information regarding Japan and Japanese way of life. Also, she had great suggestions of what to visit, where to eat etc together the most out of our stay in this fascinating country.

Snufkin2015

Mr. / 60+ / Japan

Other

1.8
Destination(s) : 2.0 Food : 1.0
Schedule : 3.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 1.0 Other : 2.0
Reviewed 08 Jan 2016


夏にローマで白人向け英語ツアーに参加したので、ローマの英語ガイドツアーと客観的な比較として。
①英語1ケ国語だけ(ローマは4ケ国語)。
②英語以外の屈折語を母国語とするコーケードが参加するので、英語のレベルは下がる。
③発音は概して日本人英語のアクセント。また、Thank you for your corporation などと言ったりしていた(正しくはcooperation )。
④無線レシーバーがないので非常に声が聞きとりにくい。寺社仏閣で大声で説明するのは白人から見て奇妙な感じがする。
⑤詳しく掘り下げた説明、外国人にとって「なぜ」という論理的な説明が足りない。
たとえば、「菅原道真」など人名、またオバマ氏が俳句を詠む時代なのに「東風吹かば匂い起こせよ」などの固有の日本語の説明がなく、通りいっぺんの説明だった。神道などの説明はどのガイドでも画一的な説明で表面的。
⑥ユーモア不足、あっても日本語感覚で、日光の手前だった。
全体的には、人間がガイドしているというより(どのガイドも同じ単語を使うなど)機械と話しているような印象を皆持ったのではないか。
(実際に途中でツアーをやめた客もいた)
⑤いいかげんな説明はなく、基本的には網羅的ではないかもしれないが間違ってはいない説明だった。

Jeremy O.

Mr. / Under 20 / United States of America

Married Couple

2.3
Destination(s) : 4.0 Food : 1.0
Schedule : 1.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 3.0 Other : -
Reviewed 03 Jul 2016


Horrible food. They park you for 2 hours at a 1 star buffet and souvenir complex. The temples and shrines you visit are lovely. However you experience can vary greatly depending on what tour guide you get. Maybe consider one of their half day tours and avoid to horrible lunch and mandatory shopping time.

PaulM

Mr. / 50-59 / United States of America

Couple

2.3
Destination(s) : 3.0 Food : 3.0
Schedule : 1.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 2.0 Other : -
Reviewed 23 May 2014


Morning part of tour was a total mess. Nijo castle was crowded. It took so long to get to the golden pavillion, we were rushed, literally running, to get a few photos and had to leave, missing 90% of the attraction. Then another sprint thru the old imperial palace. The guide was useless and could not be heard by anyone on the tour. Total disaster!

The lunch was good and the afternoon tour was less rushed and much more enjoyable. The guide, Yoshi, was great. He was knowledgable, humorous, and insightful.

Jas

Ms. / 20-29 / Singapore

Couple

2.5
Destination(s) : 4.0 Food : 1.0
Schedule : 3.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 2.0 Other : -
Reviewed 02 Dec 2017


The group was too huge, more than 40 pax, definitely affects the enjoyment of the tour. Buffet lunch was so disappointing. The food was cold and not much variety. Definitely didn’t expect such quality since the tour wasn’t that cheap. Waiting time (lunch) between morning tour and afternoon tour was more than 2 hours, quite a waste of time. Afternoon tour guide was too soft, and in such big group, l can barely hear what she was saying. Kinda regretted joining this tour. Only recommend this tour if you are on a tight schedule, otherwise, definitely better options elsewhere.

GeeHar

Mr. / 40-49 / Australia

Couple

2.5
Destination(s) : 4.0 Food : 1.0
Schedule : 2.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 3.0 Other : -
Reviewed 22 May 2017


The tour was far too hurried to appreciate much. I would rather had had more time at the last two destinations and drop one or two of the others. Unfortunately some destinations were very busy, which made it even less enjoyable. Not the guides fault, but maybe the tour could be altered in such situations.

Sunshine

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Solo Traveler

2.5
Destination(s) : 4.0 Food : 1.0
Schedule : 3.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 2.0 Other : -
Reviewed 13 Aug 2016


Too rushed at each location to be able to explore. Guides were not great, food was awful. The only meal while in Japan I needed to supplement with snacks. Good tour to welcome traveler into Kyoto.

Tamami

Ms. / Under 20 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

2.5
Destination(s) : 2.0 Food : 3.0
Schedule : 2.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 3.0 Other : -
Reviewed 23 Apr 2015


We have used JTB bus tours many times. The Tokyo tours are great. This one in Kyoto was a disappointment. Most spots they chose were all overcrowded, and it took all fun and enjoyment. We were given a strict return time to the bus (if we were late we'd be left behind!) but no indication of how long the walk would be, so we felt unnecessarily rushed, and had no chance to stop and appreciate the view. We had two guides -- morning and afternoon -- morning one was not good at all. This was the first time in Kyoto for my family, so we were looking forward to it... Next time, we will just hire a taxi and I'll be the guide!

bosh

Mr. / 40-49 / United States of America

Other

2.8
Destination(s) : 4.0 Food : 2.0
Schedule : 3.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 2.0 Other : -
Reviewed 10 Sep 2015


Good way to see Kyoto in one day. Enjoyed the itinerary although our guide was short on patience and answering questions as she snapped at a few of the tourists asking questions. The restaurant for lunch was subpar - food was edible but I would go without the lunch package and buy my own. There was more than enough time to eat at a restaurant of your choice. The thing I disliked about this tour was that they combined a morning tour and afternoon tour together and there was alot of wasted time ... we got picked up at the hotel in the am, toured the morning and then stopped for lunch, waited for another bus to pick us up and bring us back to the hotel and pick up the afternoon passengers.

Helle

Ms. / 60+ / Denmark

Couple

3.0
Destination(s) : 3.0 Food : 2.0
Schedule : 4.0 Lodgings : 3.0
Guide : 3.0 Other : 3.0
Reviewed 22 May 2019 Tour Date 19 May 2019


Difficult to hear the guide in such a big group why don't you use earphones? Also hard to understand. the space in the restaurant was very narrow we were squised in at small tables, which resulted in the waiter dropping a tray with hot miso soup on guest back.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: