Tea Ceremony Experience at a 300-Year-Old Samurai Residence in Kyoto (With 2-Hour Kimono Rental)

Reviews of Tea Ceremony Experience at a 300-Year-Old Samurai Residence in Kyoto (With 2-Hour Kimono Rental)

4.8Based on 12 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after joining this tour.

Score Breakdown

Destination(s) : 4.9 Food : 4.5
Schedule : 4.8 Lodgings : 4.5
Guide : 5.0 Other : 5.0

-

Mr. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.7
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : 4.0
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : 4.0
Guide : 5.0 Other : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Apr 2019 Tour Date 23 Apr 2019


Very good experience with considerate and helpful host - definitely recommend!

Hon

Mr. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Married Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Apr 2019 Tour Date 20 Apr 2019


Avery clear introduction to Chado (Tea ceremony) and able to experience them in private. The host is very knowledgeable about Chado. A very good experience and will recommend to anyone who will be visiting Kyoto.

Stephen & eve from England

50-59 / United Kingdom

Family with Older Children

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : -
Reviewed 18 Apr 2019 Tour Date 17 Apr 2019


My daughter and I attended the tea ceremony .. we had a great time. My daughter was dressed in a kimono, had her hair styled and we then sat and had the tea ceremony in the fantastic 400 year old house.
The hostess was wonderful! She was graceful, charming and made us laugh quite a few times.
The owner of business joined us near the end and he was also charming.
We loved it.

WC

Ms. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Solo Traveler

3.5
Destination(s) : 4.0 Food : -
Schedule : 3.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : - Other : -
Reviewed 09 Apr 2019 Tour Date 06 Apr 2019


It’s very close to the Kyoto station with an interesting setup. The instructor explained the ceremony well. But the kimono selection is limited. I wish we can make the tea in the tea room like the master instead of sitting in the sitting room outside. It’s a nice experience but there’re other options in Kyoto for better value. Would only recommend this if you couldn’t find other.

Moreno

Mr. / 20-29 / Belgium

Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : 5.0
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : 5.0
Guide : 5.0 Other : 5.0
Reviewed 01 Mar 2019 Tour Date 16 Feb 2019


Very friendly people and close to Kyoto station, beautiful kimono's, they make sure you have a lot of great pictures.
Gave us a lot of good tips for the rest of our stay in Kyoto.
After our booking, there were supposed to be other people doing a vegen ramen cooking experience but since they cancelled last minute we were offered to do it in their place for free. So after the thee ceremony we were offered a free lunch, she learned us how to make gyoza and vegan ramen.

Anindita

Ms. / 20-29 / Indonesia

Family with Older Children

4.8
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : 4.0
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : -
Reviewed 18 Jan 2019 Tour Date 12 Jan 2019


the tea ceremony truly a new thing for us! it was a wonderful and pleasant time to learn how to make tea on our own. you should try this! it's near kyoto station

Mint

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Friends

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : -
Reviewed 25 Dec 2018 Tour Date 25 Dec 2018


I give this experience a 5 stars rating. The staffs are really nice and attentive. The costumes were amazing and the tea ceremony was memorable.I really enjoy my time at the house.

Pato

Ms. / 60+ / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : 5.0
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : -
Reviewed 21 Sep 2018 Tour Date 20 Sep 2018


This was a fantastic experience, in a beautiful 300-year old former samurai house. The people were wonderful: lovely, charming Shiho made the ceremony meaningful and spiritual. Maruo ("Mario”) is gracious and generous. The tea was far better than any matcha tea we've had anywhere else in Japan. And the sweets were yummy. Overall, we would very highly recommend this wonderful experience and the people providing it!

Parū & Yezu

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : 5.0 Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Sep 2018 Tour Date 06 Sep 2018


One of a kind experience!!! My wife and I are blessed to have experienced this tea ceremony. The host and staff were super friendly and made us feel at home. We rented kimonos to have the full experience. The hospitality was taken to another level. We were celebrating my wife’s birthday and our marriage anniversary. My wife had the rare opportunity to try on a wedding kimono that normally is displayed for decoration. Location was easy to find and the atmosphere is very calm and peaceful. We highly recommend this location for your experience of a tea ceremony. Location is walking distance to/from Kyoto station and other attractions

DemDog

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Other

5.0
Destination(s) : 5.0 Food : -
Schedule : - Lodgings : -
Guide : 5.0 Other : 5.0
Reviewed 12 Jul 2018 Tour Date 03 Jul 2018


My 14 year old daughter and I loved this experience. Everyone was extremely kind and we were sad when it ended. The kimonos were beautiful and staff really were there to ensure we enjoyed ourselves from start to finish.

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: