Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site.


Hotel Shikimi ホテル四季見

Reviews of Hotel Shikimi

Total Score

3.8Based on 17 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.2 Service : 4.6
Food : 3.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.2

Matthew

Mr. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Solo Traveler

4.2
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 01 Oct 2019 Stayed 29 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


I m being upgraded to independent house with self onsen facility . Services is very good , the owner can speak English and some workers also. Very gentle and kind to us. Parking is free and aso free shuttle to watch the night show .

Portfolion

Ms. / 60+ / Singapore

Married Couple

4.4
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 19 May 2018 Stayed 17 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Shikimi is located on the hill, in a quiet residential area. we had a wonderful stay at Shikimi. Everybody was extremely friendly, helpful and generous. The room was spacious, clean. Bed was comfortable. Service was great. Food was good, with sake served in a bamboo!! Dining area was spacious, with privacy. A very good experience, a very pleasant stay. We definitely recommend this to visitors to Takachiho. The boss lady came to the bus station to fetch us, and drove us to the Gorge. They gave us clear direction when we called to find out how to get there from Kumamoto. If you are not a smoker, please make sure you ask for non-smoking room.

james T

Mr. / 60+ / Singapore

Family with Older Children

2.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 1.0
Reviewed 22 Oct 2017


i am not sure if Japanican can rate this hotel as an Ryokan or classified it as an real Onsen .The water feels and smells ordinary unlike other Onsens i had been.
the food were many varieties but of not value. There were only 2 slices of salmon for a so-called sashimi.... bad decision of me.

Sendo

Mr. / 30-39 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Jul 2017


WOW !
Only one night and what a welcoming reception.
It was not difficult to find the spot but not really easy to access though (montain city).
The service was incredible. The ryokan was great, such as the onsen.

The owner had accompagnied us to the main spots during the trip and to the bus terminal when we left.
The food was INCREDIBLE. really really great.
The "appartment" was really great, comfy with a superb bathroom.

It was the best ryokan we experienced during our Kyushu trip.I recommend highly and I would like to come back !

jo

Ms. / 40-49 / Japan

Family with Young Children

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 11 Feb 2015

Cindy Em

Ms. / 50-59 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 04 Apr 2014


Loved the hotel. Friendly, personalized service, good food. Very helpful staff.

Jules

Ms. / 40-49 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

3.0
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 2.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 03 Apr 2014


Hotel Shikimi is old-style ryokan hotel, and the rooms are a little tired, but service is good. We had a little difficulty finding it, as it was off the GPS. The free bus they provide to Takachiho Jinja for the night dancing is a plus. Food is average.

Yoke

Singapore

Family with Young Children

4.6
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 25 Dec 2011


Place is lovely and service was excellent though they speak little English (one of the staff did speak good English). They walked us to the car park and waited patiently in the cold to see us drive off. Food was very good & fresh, and we enjoyed the dinner, breakfast and all the snacks provided.definitely the place to stay in takachiho!

France

Other

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 25 Oct 2010

Tzuhua

Ms. / Under 20 / Taiwan

Family with Young Children

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 28 Nov 2017

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: