Notice
Beginning from Dec. 16, 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN.com will no longer support older versions of certain browsers and operating systems. Click here for more details. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 Dec. 31, 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 Jan. 3, 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport スターゲイトホテル関西エアポート

Reviews of Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport

Total Score

4.2Based on 135 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.2 Service : 4.2
Food : 3.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.8
Location : 4.6 Access : 4.6

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

MB

Mr. / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 15 Jan 2018 Stayed 13 Jan 2018 Meals No meals
Room Type Double room


Great hotel near KIX airport. Walking distance from Rinku Premium Outlets. Far from everything else in Osaka. Stay because you like being close to the airport.

aymzed13

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : -
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Dec 2017 Stayed 22 Dec 2017 Meals No meals
Room Type Twin room


Extremely accessible and easy to access from Osaka Kansai airport. Room was spacious and the views were amazing. Definitely recommended for anyone arriving late into Osaka or needs to catch an early morning flight.

DD

Mr. / 30-39 / Japan

Solo Traveler

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Feb 2017


If you want to be located at a hotel near the airport, Star Gate Hotel is a great option besides Hotel Nikko Kansai (which is located at the airport). However Star Gate's rate is a bit cheaper than Hotel Nikko.

Access is easy. Just take any train from Kansai Airport and get off at the next stop at Rinku Town.

The airport also offers a free bus service to and from the airport!
Rooms are very very roomy although some of the equipment and furnishings are slightly on the older side.
For such a large hotel, I am surprised there are no hot springs.

negative aspects:
1. While its very conveniently located and easily accessible, the Rinku Town area doesn't offer much besides the large outlet mall and the airport. If you want to explore the Osaka area, this area is probably not convenient
2. If you stay in the higher floors, in the early morning, you will hear a lot of popping and cracking noises as the building settles into different temperatures. They can be quite loud

JKhoongSydney

Mr. / 50-59 / Malaysia

Family with Older Children

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 Jan 2017


Nice new hotel with a great view. One station to Kansai Airport or 5 min free shuttle bus from hotel. Walking distance to Rinku Outlet Mall. Not many good restaurants in the vicinity. The Teppanyaki restaurant on 42th floor is awesome. Food of high quality tho a bit pricey. Lobby staff is friendly and willing to help. Only dislike is the room is smokey, really bad for non-smokers. No non-smoking room available.

Rin

Ms. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : -
Reviewed 11 Apr 2016


The room was very luxurious in size and deco. There was a shuttle bus service between hotel-Kansai airport although very limited, was very helpful. We arrived almost midnight thus no more shuttle and took the airport bus. But we were dropped at Washington Hotel. No sign around to assist our walking to the hotel, Luckily, the Washington hotel reception was kind enough to assist us and showed us the right direction. About 20mins walking to Rinku Premium Outlet. The hotel should prepare a map showing direction to the Outlet since most of the staffs hardly speak a word of English. But we managed to reach the place by asking around. If the package included breakfast for the price we paid, our stay would have been perfect.

Ming

Ms. / 40-49 / Thailand

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Jan 2016


Spacious room. Great view from the room, our room was at 45th floor. Just 2-3 min. walking from Train station, very good location for catching morning flight.

OZ Traveller

Mr. / 60+ / Australia

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Oct 2015


Great location especially if arriving late flights or leaving early flights.

derimmington@hotmail.com

Mr. / 50-59 / Australia

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 31 May 2015


Good hotel wonderful views great access

Seppo

Mr. / 30-39 / Finland

Solo Traveler

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 31 Mar 2015


Great location if you have a early morning flight to leave. Awesome views at 36th floor and at least my room was HUGE with windows to two directions. Shopping mall with good restaurants nearby.

anne yim

Ms. / 40-49 / Malaysia

Family with Young Children

4.6
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Mar 2015


Stayed 1 night due to late night arrival at Osaka. We catch JR train bound for Osaka, it's only 1 station away, alight at Rinku-town station, take the Exit no. 3 and walked cross a bridge to arrived at the hotel at 11:30pm. Check-in staff are very helpful when we asked about eating place late at night. The "Kitchen-Bar" restaurant located within the same building "Star-Gate Tower Building" at 25th floor served good Japanese foods with decent price. Hotel rooms are comfortable with quality toiletries but beds are a little hard. We like the hotel location as it is within 5 to 8 minutes walking distance to Rinku premium outlet before we continue our journey to Kyoto by train the next morning. Ideal hotel to stay over night for late night arrival or to catch early flight the next day at Kansai airport.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: