Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Eko-in 高野山 宿坊 恵光院

Reviews of Eko-in

Total Score

4.7Based on 24 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.2
Location : 4.9 Access : 5.0

Next 10

1 2 3

Mailei

Ms. / 50-59 / Greece

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Jun 2019 Stayed 08 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Unforgetable experience!

Gigi

Ms. / 30-39 / Denmark

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Jun 2019 Stayed 06 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Absolutely stunning place to stay. The monks are incredibly nice and informative. Getting there you might feel a little intimidated as you are visiting a lifestyle that the monks hold sacred. However, while feeling totally out of place to begin with you quickly feel very welcome and at home. The food and rooms are beautiful and a real treat to experience. Please do the night cemetery tour if possible, the monks are very funny tour guides :) Also, definitively participate in the morning prayer and fire ceremony.

Ondrouchch

Mr. / 40-49 / Czech Republic

Couple

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 May 2019 Stayed 16 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Unique experience - temple accommodation just steps away from the Oku-no-in cemetery. Room was simple yet clean and cosy. Staff great and very friendly. Unique experience with vegan cuisine! Do not miss morning rituals, worth the early wake-up call.

Joyce

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Mar 2019 Stayed 22 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


My husband and I enjoyed learning about the culture of Koyasan during our temple stay. Bathing areas are shared, which is part of the unique experience. Highly recommend for those wanting to delve deeper into Japanese culture.

Be Here

Ms. / 30-39 / Japan

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 29 Oct 2018 Stayed 20 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Very close to the cemetery in Koyasan. Wonderful temple accommodations that accommodate non-Japanese speakers.

AKatieD

Ms. / 50-59 / United Kingdom

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Sep 2018 Stayed 28 Aug 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Brilliant introfuction to Eko -in by english speaking monk. Our first experience of anything like this. The buildings and gardens are beautiful and very well kept.

We learned how to meditate thanks to another english speaking monk. We will have to try it at home.

Then time for dinner which came on 6 trays of little delicacies for 3 people. Exquisitely presented tiny amounts of many different things to try, along with a big bowl of rice and pot of tea.

After dinner our beds arrived ( double futons) which were laid out in a trice by two more monks and the dinner trays removed.

After a short rest and look arounfmd the gardens it was time for a night tour around okunoin with the same monk as the meditation. He was very informative about the place, its history and his religion.

Early next morning we were priviledged to watch the monks at their morning prayer and then at the fire ceremony.

All round great experience

luisapotosi

Mr. / 60+ / France

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Aug 2018 Stayed 03 Aug 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


One of our best experiences in Japan!

maxlovi

Mr. / 40-49 / Italy

Married Couple

2.8
Room : 2.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Aug 2018 Stayed 11 Aug 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Ma stiamo scherzando? Questo è un monastero? I monasteri sono diversi,i monaci che ti circondano sono diversi.Questo è solo business e anche molto caro per quello che offrono, anche la visita notturna è una presa in giro. Sicuramente pulito e cibo accettabile, ci mancherebbe con quello che costa!!! Ma se volete un’esperienza mistica non è il posto giusto.

gberincua

Mr. / 30-39 / Spain

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Jun 2018 Stayed 10 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


One of the best experience in my life. I chose this temple for the amazing quality, buddhist experience, gluten-free food and high top service. For the first contact, they trend us as a important guesses. You will know more about buddhist, her practices and life style. Take in consideration this is not a hotel and the experience is very different: which is the right key to stay in a temple. Also, you can take the night graveyard tour (you won't regret). 10/10 experience.

Nice experience overall

Ms. / 20-29 / France

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 Mar 2018 Stayed 05 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Nice experience! Slept very well and really enjoyed the bath. The activities were really nice even though we couldn't do the cemetery tour due to rain! Recommended.

Next 10

1 2 3

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: