Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Koyasan Kongo Sanmaiin 高野山宿坊 金剛三昧院

Reviews of Koyasan Kongo Sanmaiin

Total Score

4.3Based on 7 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.4 Service : 4.1
Food : 3.5 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.5
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.7

1

Hugo

Mr. / 20-29 / France

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 28 Aug 2019 Stayed 25 Aug 2019 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


A very pleasant stay. I highly recommend.
As far as I am concerned, they were toilets in my room. But I guess most of the rooms were not equiped with primate toilets.

breaker123

Ms. / 20-29 / Canada

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Feb 2019 Stayed 22 Feb 2019 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


If you’re looking for a real life Japanese lodging, I recommend this temple lodging! Also, the site is beautiful and the room is not that expensive for what you get. It’s a great place to stay if you want to relax and enjoy the spiritual feel of the place!!

nghtchld

Mr. / 40-49 / Australia

Couple

3.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Nov 2018 Stayed 11 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Pros: Quiet, decent room, no curfew, clean.
Cons: Average food (not bad just not special in any way), a bit expensive for what you get (but mid-range for Koyasan), inefficient check-in and check-out considering how much of it they must do every day, no bag storage service although you can just leave them behind them main temple gate, but its out in the open.

K_Czajkowska

Ms. / 30-39 / Portugal

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Sep 2018 Stayed 23 Sep 2018 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


Great place to stay!
Room was beautiful with a stunning view of the garden outside. Simple but with everything you may need at the same time. Dinner and breakfast very tasty and unique. You can participate in the morning monks practice which is an amazing experience. The temple is beautiful and worth visiting with the surrounding gardens. Also the place is well located, less than 5 minutes from the bus stop, tourist information and convenience store. Most of the Koyasan sights are in a walking distance.

Louise from London

Ms. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Apr 2018 Stayed 16 Apr 2018 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


A beautiful temple complex, which has a rich history and is well maintained. The monks were extremely professional and pleasant in showing us the amenities and our rooms during the check-in. The rooms are large and well equipped, we had a garden view which was stunning. The rooms are not in the temple itself, but across from it, they are quite modern and very clean. The onsens are communal but separated between men and women and were very nice. They invite their guests to morning prayer, which I highly recommend; it was a beautiful experience and I highly recommend waking up early to join them.

alicia

Ms. / 20-29 / Germany

Couple

2.4
Room : 1.0 Service : 1.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 13 Apr 2018 Stayed 07 Apr 2018 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


There was no instructions for the heater (remote control in japanese) and it was freezing in the room. As it is not a hotel there is no possibility to ask at the reception. We had to wear all of our clothes under the blankets and it was still too cold. The rooms are not traditional and in another building as the temple. The breakfast is cold except for the warm plain rice. The service is not great, indeed we had the feeling that tourists are tolerated but not welcomed. We didn't get a room with garden view but still had to pay the full price. It was really difficult to explain our issue with this and we had the feeling that they decided not to understand enough english to find a compromise.
If you want to see Koyasan, plan a day trip as sleeping in a "temple" is not a magical experience and not worth the really expensive prices.

Iris

Ms. / 20-29 / Hong Kong

Solo Traveler

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 24 Jul 2017


執事很親切地歡迎旅客,也帶我簡單地參觀設施。房間能看到庭園,蟲叫不斷,氣氛很放鬆。高野山本身比較遠,交通方法簡便但需時,山上很多蟲子要小心。推薦大家去住一晚啊!

1

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: