Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Fudoin 不動院

Reviews of Fudoin

Total Score

4.8Based on 72 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.4
Location : 4.9 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

loveJapan

Ms. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Oct 2019 Stayed 18 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Our experience was fantastic. The room was incredibly authentic and in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding in Koyasan. The early morning Buddhist prayers were a new experience and the food hands down was some of the most impressive we had in Japan, all vegan and very tasty which was impressive! The service was excellent and everyone was so polite and helpful. Highly recommend coming here for an authentic experience of Koyasan (the train here is also so picturesque!)

Shiru

Ms. / 30-39 / Japan

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Jun 2019 Stayed 18 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Fudoin was amazing. The monks were incredibly friendly and helpful, the facilities were in top condition and seemed quite new and well kept. The vegetarian meals were some of the most delicious food I've had in my life. The location is right next to one of the Koyasan bus stops. We were worried about combining our stay with the famous Okunoin night tour (because in other temples the dinner and communal bath times might not make it possible), but thanks to the helpful monks that agreed to serve the dinner earlier than usual, we were able to enjoy the night tour as well. Fantastic stay, highly recommended!!

Jmoutet

Ms. / 20-29 / Japan

Friends

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Nov 2018 Stayed 08 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


It was a really nice exeperience to stay at Fudoin. Really easy to access with the local bus, nice room, meals (not in the room) were really beautiful and delicious !
I appreciate to have a bath in japanese style bath (no private bathroom in our room). The staff was really nice, could speak english, and kept our luggage when we arrive in the morning before doing the check-in late afternoon !
Be aware of the meal, bath and the ceremony schedule before booking if you don't want bad surprise =)
I recommend this place !

marcsdmd

Mr. / 60+ / United States of America

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Nov 2018 Stayed 15 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


My wife and I had a lovely stay overnight at Fudoin. Koyasan is a very special place and much easier to access than iit would seem when planning our trip. The accommodations at Fudoin are similar to a simpler ryokan but lovely. The monks were very kind. The schedule is very specific regarding bathing, dinner, morning prayer etc but the dinner and breakfast were quite good and the opportunity to join morning prayer was very special. Our only error was not taking an evening walk to the cemetery. The entrance is only a 15 walk away. Overall a very good experience and we thank the monks for their kind hospitality.

Maru

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Friends

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Jun 2018 Stayed 03 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Our group enjoyed a delightful stay with the kind monks of Fudoin. WI especially enjoyed the vegan/vegetarian dinner and breakfast, which included a plethora of tasty dishes in small portions so that you could get a taste of many different foods. The morning meditation service was also a really profound experience that I will not soon forget. The service was exceptional and the room was modest but clean and cozy. As a small note, the monks will remove most of your towels from the room during the morning service/breakfast time, so be sure to do your face-washing before that time! Also, the WiFi is not very strong but you will probably be busy enough with sightseeing that it won't matter much.

MideBru

Ms. / 60+ / France

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Jan 2018 Stayed 19 Jan 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


I spent a very nice time there. I recommand

Jean

Mr. / 20-29 / France

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 20 Dec 2017


We spent a delightful night in this temple. The dinner is really good (the one I enjoyed the most during our trip), people are nice, the room is spacious and i slept really well. The baths are nice either, not so big but in December it was almost empty. The ceremony is nice, even if i would have had more information on it.

Claudia

Ms. / 30-39 / Germany

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 31 Oct 2017


Fantastic experience!!

Shayna

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Sep 2017


The monk who manages guests was kind and helpful. He knocks on your door for dinner and breakfast if you request it so you don't miss anything! The temple is beautiful, as is the scenery. The food was interesting, for sure, with dinner being much better than breakfast in my opinion.

Corentin

Mr. / Under 20 / United Kingdom

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Aug 2017


Expensive but worth it, recommend. Best futons found in Japan

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: