Reviews of Koyasan Wakayama Fudoin - JAPANiCAN.com

Fudoin 不動院

Reviews of Fudoin

Total Score

4.8Based on 68 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.4
Location : 4.9 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Maru

Mr. / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Friends

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Jun 2018 Stayed 03 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Our group enjoyed a delightful stay with the kind monks of Fudoin. WI especially enjoyed the vegan/vegetarian dinner and breakfast, which included a plethora of tasty dishes in small portions so that you could get a taste of many different foods. The morning meditation service was also a really profound experience that I will not soon forget. The service was exceptional and the room was modest but clean and cozy. As a small note, the monks will remove most of your towels from the room during the morning service/breakfast time, so be sure to do your face-washing before that time! Also, the WiFi is not very strong but you will probably be busy enough with sightseeing that it won't matter much.

MideBru

Ms. / 60+ / France

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Jan 2018 Stayed 19 Jan 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


I spent a very nice time there. I recommand

Jean

Mr. / 20-29 / France

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 20 Dec 2017 Stayed 06 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We spent a delightful night in this temple. The dinner is really good (the one I enjoyed the most during our trip), people are nice, the room is spacious and i slept really well. The baths are nice either, not so big but in December it was almost empty. The ceremony is nice, even if i would have had more information on it.

Claudia

Ms. / 30-39 / Germany

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 31 Oct 2017 Stayed 29 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Fantastic experience!!

Shayna

Ms. / 20-29 / U.S.A.

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Sep 2017 Stayed 07 Sep 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The monk who manages guests was kind and helpful. He knocks on your door for dinner and breakfast if you request it so you don't miss anything! The temple is beautiful, as is the scenery. The food was interesting, for sure, with dinner being much better than breakfast in my opinion.

Corentin

Mr. / Under 20 / United Kingdom

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Aug 2017 Stayed 04 Aug 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Expensive but worth it, recommend. Best futons found in Japan

Bfreeman

Ms. / 20-29 / U.S.A.

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 12 Jun 2017 Stayed 21 May 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The facilities were clean and comfortable. The food was beautifully presented and tasted fantastic. We would have liked to have had more explanation on what we were eating, as we were still Japanese food novices at that point. Or even a little menu printed with the different dishes names. We would recommend staying here!

Christophe

Mr. / 60+ / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 May 2017 Stayed 23 May 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Très bonne expérience, repas excellent, chambre très grande et très propre. L'office religieux du matin très intéressant. Expérience enrichissante !

Anita

Ms. / 20-29 / Canada

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 May 2017 Stayed 11 May 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Our stay at Fudoin was brief but rewarding. We very much appreciated the quietness of the region. The room was very nice, clean and it had all the amenities we needed (AC, enough power plugs, toilet with sink). The food was great! The dinner was a feast.

Alex

Mr. / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Apr 2017


Fudou-in was a very nice place to experience shukubo. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable (they appear new, definitely constructed within the last few years but in semi-traditional Japanese style), and there is also a well-maintained, new public sento (unfortunately, only available in the evenings). The food is outstanding; varied, delicious, and beautifully presented. Though the rooms are new, the old parts of the temple are truly ancient and full of character--but you won't see them unless you get up for the morning service, so definitely do that (it's a very nice service, and the head monk gave a short lecture afterwards about the history of the temple and their monastic activity, first in Japanese and then in English). We're glad to have gone.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: