Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Daienin 大円院

Reviews of Daienin

Total Score

4.6Based on 91 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.6
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.2
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Mark

Mr. / 20-29 / New Zealand

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Nov 2019 Stayed 23 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Excellent place to stay. Good value, the room was clean and had a nice view of the garden and excellent food was provided for dinner and lunch. The monks were very friendly and although had limited English they had written instructions available to explain the temple. Great location for exploring Koyasan too.

Naomi

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Oct 2019 Stayed 09 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Had an incredible stay at Daienin, it was the highlight of my trip. Food was amazing, incredible hospitality, really nice buddhist service in the morning. Great location and really affordable, I would definitely stay here again.

Chris

Mr. / 30-39 / Germany

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 19 Oct 2019 Stayed 14 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We had a great stay which we enjoyed a lot. It is perfectly situated in Koyasan, food was really good and we could also check in prior to the offical check in time, which was a nice favour. The room had garden view. You can store luggage in case this is not working as well. We participated in the morning prayers which was a nice add-on.
Onsen time was limited, due to a big group and it is not big, but still pretty good. The room was a bit cold.
I suppose that there are high class stays in Koysan, put you get here everything for fair money you need for a nice stay in this lovely town.

Familyof4

Mr. / 30-39 / Hong Kong

Family with Young Children

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 19 Oct 2019 Stayed 06 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We stayed for a night with 2 young children. I cannot compare to other temple stays because this was our first. On hindsight, I feel that Shukubos are not be recommended for young children because there are guests who expect a very quiet stay, which is understandable because it is a temple. The walls and sliding doors between rooms were thin, and it was difficult to have very quiet children when the room is small and children had to walk to the other end for the common bathroom. However, if travelling as a couple, I think this is a great place. Morning prayers ended with a brief of it in English, monks were friendly and they were patient with my kids. Dinner was sumptuous, breakfast was a little more average. There was ample free parking across the road from the temple. The room is small for a family of 4 but the temple and common areas were very clean.

Giru

Mr. / 30-39 / Switzerland

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Oct 2019 Stayed 03 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The staying is a great experience. Probably the largest room I had in Japan! The vegan buddhist food was beyond amazing. There is a ceremony and a visit of the temple in the Morning. The temple is located just next to the bus stop.

Gunter

Mr. / 60+ / Germany

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Oct 2019 Stayed 06 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We were very satisfied with our stay, but have a suggestion to Japanican: It would be advisable to inform potential bookers, that practically no English is understood by Daienin staff. This is not criticising Daienin staff, but important to know beforehand.

Dan

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Married Couple

3.5
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 03 Oct 2019 Stayed 01 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


If you take showers in the evening, this place is great. Otherwise, no showers in the morning. Also, the morning services were fantastic ... if you speak Japanese (so feel free to ignore this if you do). Otherwise, you’ll hear 15 minutes of Japanese explanation and a quick Wikipedia summary in English. Dinner was dope, breakfast was kinda sad. Rooms are clean (although if you’re tall, the bed will be lackluster). Monks were extremely friendly and great. Hotel part could use some work. If you’re Japanese and love evening showers: book it. If not, consider your options.

Cecile

Ms. / 40-49 / France

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Sep 2019 Stayed 13 Aug 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We spent a very nice stay at Daienin. The rooms are very large, nice and comfortable (beds are very comfortable too). I liked the food (veggan, with vegetable, tofu and rice), but it can be difficult for children because the taste is very different from our country (France). On the morning we can attend the religious ceremony at 6 am. It's a very good experience. Just after the ceremony we went to Okunoin cemetery, just 15mn on foot, it was really magical, with a spiritual atmosphere and no tourist. Spending a night in Koyasan enable you to immerse yourself in its spiritual atmosphere.

N

Mr. / 20-29 / Japan

Couple

4.6
Room : 5.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 28 Aug 2019 Stayed 20 Aug 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We had a great stay at Daien-in. Before arrival (at 10AM) we called to ask if we could store our luggage there - it was no problem at all, so we could discover Koyasan without our suitcases.
Checking in at 4.30PM took a bit as there was another group checking in before us. And as soon as they were done the monk surprisingly welcomed the lady who arrived after us instead of welcoming us (as we waited longer - that´s why I took away 1 star for "Service").
Dinner at 5PM was great. The next morning we took part in the morning prayer - which was interesting, but also took until the breakfast.
The other star I took away for "Service" is because of the things on the website:
Sutra transcription: it is available, for 1000 Yen.
Religious Service: that´s the morning prayer
Ajikan Meditation: not available at Daien-in -> reason for minus 1 star
All in all we would recommend a stay here.

Gurleenn

Ms. / 20-29 / Canada

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Aug 2019 Stayed 17 Aug 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


It was great to get away from the city and relax in this buddhist monastery. The monks were extremely friendly and accommodating, and everything was done punctually and on time. The location was central for everything we wanted to see, so we had to walk no more than a half hour to get to the furthest place. There is a bus stop right outside of it too (a minute walking literally), which made it really easy to get to. I definitely recommend it for anyone looking to stay in Koya-san!

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: