Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Saimonin 西門院

Reviews of Saimonin

Total Score

4.4Based on 15 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.2 Service : 4.3
Food : 4.7 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.8
Location : 4.9 Access : 4.5

Catherine

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

4.2
Room : 5.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 21 Aug 2019 Stayed 10 Aug 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Special Price Plan


It was a good experience although one doesn't really see the monks or gain insight into their life. One person checked us in and showed us to our room, in which our food was already set out waiting for us, and we saw a monk the next morning conducting a prayer ceremony - that was it. The prayer ceremony itself is something to observe, rather than a group meditation sitting, and all in Japanese.

Be aware that Saimonin has a 9pm curfew, and the doors to the temple only open at approx 7:30am the next morning. We wanted to see the cemetery in the misty dawn light, but couldn't leave the temple until the sun was already fully up. Also, the shower facilities are only available to use between 5-9pm on an evening, although there are communal washbasins and toilets available.

This is a simple, more austere place, there are no tours or classes, like in other temples. I had the impression that the people who worked there, whilst polite, did not necessarily enjoy dealing with the guests.

Zed

Ms. / 50-59 / United Kingdom

Friends

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 30 May 2019 Stayed 20 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Special Price Plan


Excellent location and easy to find even though we couldn’t speak or read any Japanese. The monks were very hospitable and the food was beautifully presented.

Lenna

Ms. / 40-49 / Australia

Friends

3.3
Room : 2.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 May 2019 Stayed 04 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Bath was restricted to hours between 5pm and 9pm. No access in the morning and no hot water at any sink to wash your face. Room was tiny and the sliding doors separating you from the neighbours were thin so you can hear everything. I wouldn't have minded any of this if it weren't for the price. I felt that it was overall too expensive for the quality of facilities. I noticed a Japanese couple paying in cash for their one night stay and they paid directly to the temple which cost ¥16000. We paid ¥26000 for the same accommodation through Japanican. Not happy about that.

Jean-Sébastien

Mr. / 30-39 / France

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 06 May 2019 Stayed 29 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Mister Hiro was very kind.

Anila

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Apr 2019 Stayed 11 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Special Price Plan


Mount Koya is easily one of the most beautiful and pristine places in Japan. The monks at Saimonin are very nice and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The dinner and breakfast are absolutely delicious and some of the best food we had in Japan!!! Overall, a wonderful experience and cannot be missed.

Valerie

Ms. / 20-29 / Canada

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 04 Oct 2018 Stayed 02 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Nous avons bien apprécié notre expérience dans ce temple. Un bel accueil, des bons repas et la chambre avec vue sur le jardin répondait exactement à nos attentes. Propre, traditionnelle et confortable. L'endroit est facile d'accès avec l'autobus une fois arrivé à la gare de Koyasan. Près des autres points d'intérêt de cette petite ville (à distance de marche). Je recommande cet endroit!

Sandtourist

Mr. / 60+ / United States of America (Hawaii)

Friends

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Apr 2018 Stayed 26 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Quite enjoyed this place. Typical tatami room with futon beds, nice garden view. Spectacular vegetarian kaiseki meal, as beautiful to look at as to eat. Staff, especially Miki-san were great. Public bath was small but clean. Bath water could have been hotter for my taste. Shared toilet had two western style toilets and shared tooth brushing areas. Cons: early curfew of 9pm -gates are locked. Also bath is open 5-9pm only, not in the mornings. Would recommend but have no comparison so don’t know if other places might be nicer.

Andreas

Mr. / 40-49 / Germany

Couple

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 Apr 2018 Stayed 17 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Very friendly staff, delicious food (and lots of it!). Room nice and clean.
Bathrooms a bit old, but clean.

Kiki

Ms. / 20-29 / Switzerland

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Apr 2018 Stayed 24 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


It was an amazing stay at the temple Saimonin. The monk was really sympatic, speaking a bite of english, always here to help you. The room was clean, with two kimono, the warming table and the futon. The food was amazing. And the possibility to have a traditional bath at night is juste perfect. I really recommend this place.

Kateeee

Ms. / 30-39 / Ukraine

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2016

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: