Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Sekisho-in 赤松院

Reviews of Sekisho-in

Total Score

4.0Based on 95 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.1 Service : 3.8
Food : 3.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.5
Location : 4.6 Access : 4.3

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Yasmine

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Married Couple

4.4
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 29 Oct 2019 Stayed 24 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We enjoyed our stay in this very basic but comfortable shukubo, close to the cemetery and a short walk from all other temples and shrines in the town. Lovely setting and tasty vegan food.

behny

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Couple

2.8
Room : 1.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Sep 2019 Stayed 15 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Special Price Plan


I would not recommend this place for a temple stay. This was our 3rd trip to Koyasan. Previously we stayed at Fudoin but they had no availability this time. We have traveled to Japan about 7 times now and stayed in many types of accommodation: homestay, hotels, ryokans and temples. We are well versed in what to expect from a temple stay. This was probably our worst experience to date. The temple is in need of repairs and the cleanliness is not up to standard. The rooms have a strong mildew smell coming from the floor and walls. It was extremely unpleasant. I suspect water damage to the infrastructure and neglect. The breakfast and dinner offered is very simple. The morning prayer ceremony was fantastic but this is offered everywhere. Despite other temples being more expensive, I think value for money is better.

Tram

Ms. / 20-29 / Germany

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Apr 2019 Stayed 13 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We had a wonderful, unforgettable time here. Of course this place will not be pristinely clean and sparkling since it is a +1000 year old temple. The futons were comfortable, and extra blankets were provided against the cold. To our pleasent surprise, we had a privat bathroom and toilet as well, even though I didn't book it. The food was very interesting and varied, and actually vegan (I was served fish once in a different temple lodging), and staff took their time to explain every single item to us, very kind and caring. There is a booklet in every room with detailed information about Koyasan, the morning ritual, the venue, the food and some meditation practices as well. There was a table with a heat blanket and wifi in every room, too, and the view on the garden was amazing. They have two bikes you can borrow, and Okunoin is not even 5 min by foot. My only critique is that the hot bath was a little bit too hot.

Roman

Mr. / 50-59 / Slovenia

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 29 Jan 2019 Stayed 27 Jan 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Great place, authentic monastery, delecious food borh for dinner and breakfast, very friendly service with explanation of all dishes. Attended a morning prayer with monks. Great location at the start of the trail to the mausoleum of Kukai. It was very cold but the room had a kerosene burner and electric foot warmer. Onsen is a bit small but sufficient for several persons.

Southernigloo

Mr. / 50-59 / Canada

Couple

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 07 Oct 2018 Stayed 05 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Understanding that we were visiting a working temple, we felt unwelcome and interloping during our stay. For the money charged, we should have stayed in a less expensive guest house. By contrast, we had a nicer room in Yunomine Onsen, for half the price, and hosts who seemed genuinely happy to have us as guests.

Stan

Mr. / 40-49 / Canada

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 28 Aug 2018 Stayed 26 Aug 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


It was one the best Japanese experience we have ever had!!! Amazing place, people, service and food.

vero

Ms. / 40-49 / Japan

Family with Older Children

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Jan 2018 Stayed 01 Jan 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


the family room we got was very spacious, warm and confortable. Food is fine but cold. Good experience even though the shared time with the monks is not very long (30min at morning ceremony) and there was no English translation at all to explain anything; the price is quite high too...

canada_traveler

Mr. / 30-39 / Canada

Couple

3.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 03 Jan 2018 Stayed 28 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We came from Osaka, so took the train to Hashimoto then took a bus to Koyasan station. From there, many local buses took us to the door stop of the shokubo. The staff speak very little English but enough for you to understand the temple inn rules and hours. When we arrived in the Winter, the inn was very cold throughout so be mindful when travelling between rooms and meals. Our room was large and neat. Furnishings were old but clean. We had a lovely view of the garden. Many rooms are smoking (few were non smoking), so be mindful that there may be people smoking in the common area outside of the rooms and this travels to the inside of the rooms. Our room included a kotatsu (heated table) which was great. Someone came each morning to change our towels and offer new sets of Japanese style clothes. The indoor baths were old but clean. The meals were good. Overall the experience was positive and relaxing.

Thomas

Mr. / 20-29 / France

Couple

2.5
Room : 3.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 26 Dec 2017 Stayed 21 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Disappointing! We’ve read so many positive comments and don’t understand. There was nothing magical about this place : ( it was late December and everywhere except the room it was extremely cold. Long corridors with red carpet made us felt like in a hotel. The prayer was nothing special, only three monks taking part. And the tempura at diner was cold. We slept well, but it’s not worth the price and the effort of coming there (few trains and 2 buses). The only thing that I appreciated in Koyasan was the cemetery.

Katrin

Ms. / 30-39 / Germany

Friends

4.2
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Oct 2017


We really liked the place. It was clean, spacious ant I really loved the food for dinner. We would definitely come back again

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: