Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Jokiin 常喜院

Reviews of Jokiin

Total Score

4.8Based on 43 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.7 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.7 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.4
Location : 4.9 Access : 4.9

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

mesa

Mr. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.6
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Oct 2019 Stayed 18 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Excellent. Highly recommended.
If you are a light sleeper you might want to bring earplugs. It’s a temple so ‘rooms’ are separated by dividers rather than walls.
Food was delicious.

Bm

Mr. / 20-29 / Singapore

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 06 Jan 2019 Stayed 04 Jan 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Lovely room, great food. Hot baths (onsen) on site. Morning prayers great to be a part of. Highly recommended!

aliya

Ms. / 20-29 / Canada

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Nov 2018 Stayed 09 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Staying in Jokiin temple was one of my favourite experiences in Japan. The service was outstanding, and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
The food was delicious, and dinner was extremely fillint. The temple was cold in November, but the rooms themselves had heating and very thick blankets.
The morning ceremony was good, we got to hear some history.
Really enjoyed everything at the temple.

guillaumr

Mr. / 30-39 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Sep 2018 Stayed 13 Sep 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Super accueil,
Personnel aux petits soins.
Le lieu est magnifique. Les chambres sont propres et spacieuses. Les bains sont ouverts jusqu à 22h et les tatoués sont admis. Repas végétarien de qualité. Cérémonie matinale a ne pas manquer
Merci pour cette belle expérience.
Guillaume

ophélie

Ms. / 30-39 / Spain

Friends

4.2
Room : 2.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Jun 2018 Stayed 19 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The place is nice and all the staff is very helpful and welcoming, we took part to the morning ceremony, an nice experience we would recommend.
The only thing we were deasapointed about was the room, we went there seaking peace and calm and got a room with window on the parking and it was noisy.

madinem

Mr. / Under 20 / Japan

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Jun 2018 Stayed 17 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Exceptional hospitality and guidance. Very convinient location in central Koya. Interesting hall and morning service. Very simple onsen, but very clean and hey it’s a temple. The staff speaks English and is very understanding, so don’t be put off be a “temple stay” experience. The food is good.

Dan

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Jun 2018 Stayed 10 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Great place to stay in Koyasan! We were met on arrival by a very friendly staff member who gave us a tour of the building and spoke English very well. Room was spacious, facilities were clean and modern, and food was excellent! Would definitely return!

Rebecca W

Ms. / 20-29 / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 May 2018 Stayed 26 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


I visited this ryokan on the 26th April with my partner. I cannot recommend this place enough. The service was superb- my partner left his backpack on the bus and the hostess was kind enough to call the bus company and accompany us to the bus stop to get it back again! The inn is so beautiful, we had the garden view "secret room" and the atmosphere was perfect. The monks were very kind and gracious- it was an honour to witness their morning prayers. Make sure you wake up to see them. The food was delectable and the curfew was late enough that we could enjoy both the night time graveyard as well as the thermal bath. Overall this ryokan was a top highlight of my trip to Japan.

Ben

Mr. / 30-39 / Switzerland

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Apr 2018 Stayed 19 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We've spent 2 nights an the Jokiin and enjoyed our time there a lot! The rooms were lovely, nice views to the garden, the onsen was clean, the morning ceremony interesting and the location great. The food was delicious, although compared to the Fukuchiin
, where we stayed 3 years ago, the menu was not as creative/elegant as we experienced it before. But we can definitely recommend it, also because the staff spoke good English and had good recommendations.

Jan

Mr. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Apr 2018 Stayed 30 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Going to Koyasan was one of the highlights of our Japan trip and the stay at Jokiin was amazing! The rooms are great and the food was an incredible experience! The monks and the staff of the temple did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The morning pray, even though it included waking up very early, was an experience that I will never forget.

I can just recommend everyone who goes to Japan, to visit Koyasan and stay at the Jokiin.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: