Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Hongakuin 本覺院

Reviews of Hongakuin

Total Score

4.6Based on 32 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.7 Service : 4.4
Food : 4.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Aofaine

Ms. / 20-29 / New Zealand

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Oct 2019 Stayed 27 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This was just idyllic! The room was beautiful, calming and comfortable. I loved the traditional aesthetic. They provided modern conveniences such as wifi, a tv, a boiler for hot water, tea and a tea pot. The bed was made for me whilst I was out of the room, and then put away whilst I was at breakfast. The staff were extremely welcoming. The onsen was very relaxing. Yukata (cotton kimono worn in the summer time) were provided to walk around in and attend meals in The rules were made very clear, and a sheet with meal times, prayer times and the aforementioned rules is printed out and provided for each guest. I am a vegetarian, so I have to say, it was such a pleasure finally being able to eat a meal and not worry about it's contents! The meals are well portioned- most people could not finish theirs.

Frank

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Jul 2019 Stayed 19 Jul 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Koyasan is a bit out of the way but it was easy to get to and a beautiful town. The monks at Hongakuin were very accommodating and hospitable, they made us feel right at home. The temple itself had a wonderful woody smell to it. The rooms were traditional Japanese style and well furnished. The baths were luxurious. I could highly recommend a stay here!

Craig

Mr. / 60+ / Australia

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Jun 2019 Stayed 13 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A wonderful place to stay in Koyasan. We were fortunate in that on the nights we were staying there were not too many guests so quiet stillness prevailed. We strongly recommend at least a 2 night stay, we would happily have stayed 3 ! Do morning prayers every morning they are an integral part of the stay and are a great start to the day.

Lolo

Ms. / 50-59 / France

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 07 May 2019 Stayed 28 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Tout était parfait.

G.A..P.

Mr. / 60+ / Italy

Solo Traveler

2.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 1.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 04 May 2019 Stayed 30 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The toilet was smelling badly.
There was no shower.
Too expensive for very low treatment
The common bath was too small.

Roo

Ms. / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Family with Young Children

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Apr 2019 Stayed 19 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Beautiful monastery, wonderful experience. I highly recommend the morning prayers.

Globemama

Ms. / 50-59 / United States of America

Solo Traveler

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : -
Reviewed 29 Mar 2019 Stayed 27 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room

James

Mr. / 30-39 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 Mar 2019 Stayed 21 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We visited Hongakuin in March 2019 and can highly recommend it. Staff were very friendly and explained everything in English. The food was incredible. Bathing is done in a communal bath with separate men's and women's bathing times - the bath itself was very relaxing. The morning prayer service was smaller than at another temple we stayed at, but felt much more intimate and I preferred it greatly. Overall we had a wonderful time and I would love to visit again.

ram

Mr. / 20-29 / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Mar 2019 Stayed 20 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Very intimate experience at Hongakuin. Well placed in the area and very special morning prayers. Food was excellent and rooms and service were fantastic.

BenPremack

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 04 Jul 2018 Stayed 04 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Outstanding experience with the monks at Hongakuin, highly recommended on all counts.

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: