Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Ichijoin 一乗院

Reviews of Ichijoin

Total Score

4.8Based on 74 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.7 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.7 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.9 Access : 4.7

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Kerze

Mr. / 50-59 / Canada

Couple

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Oct 2019 Stayed 15 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We stayed at Ichijoin in Koyasan after visiting Okunoin cemetery, the experience is absolutely incredible. A Buddhist temple offering a 5 stars vegetarian meal. This visit is definitely the prime time of our Japan trip. I recommend to all Japan visitors to pass by Koyasan and Ichijoin Temple.

christina

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Oct 2019 Stayed 08 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Lovely stay at Ichijoin. Easy check in and check out process. Service and staff were exceptional, and the facilities were very clean and welcoming. The food was fabulous and we could not have expected better! The temple grounds are situated in a spacious area with beautiful gardens and surrounding nature. Would love to visit again!

Aure

Ms. / 30-39 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 Oct 2019 Stayed 19 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


It was a great experience to stay at Ichijoin temple. The temple is peaceful and beautiful. The personal was kind and helpful. Dinner and breakfast were prepared with a lot of attention to details and was wonderful. We were happy to be welcomed to the morning prayer.

damien

Mr. / 40-49 / France

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Aug 2019 Stayed 07 Aug 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Great traditional Japanese experience. Amazing place, beautiful room and amazing public spaces
great food in a private 4 people dining room
Morning prayer nice experience

Sadlig

Mr. / 60+ / France

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Jul 2019 Stayed 28 Jul 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The best accomadation during our trip in Japan. Awesome garden, very comfortable room, awesome dinner and very helpfull staff.
They call for us a previous hotel where we forgot belongings and they will be sent in an hotel we will stay in a few days.
You have to stay here 2 nights to visit surroundings

Woodpecker

Ms. / 60+ / France

Other

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Jun 2019 Stayed 03 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Would have liked a private shower

domi77

Mr. / 60+ / France

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Apr 2019 Stayed 11 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


C'est la première fois que nous allions coucher dans un ryokan, c'est une expérience fabuleuse, l'endroit est très bien placé, les jardins superbes, après nous être présentés au moine de l'accueil, il nous a emmenés dans la chambre qui était impeccable et climatisée, le must c'est le repas végétarien, ce n'est pas mon truc, mais je reconnais que c'est très bien préparé, la présentation est superbe, il y a une multitude de plats à déguster, le tout servi avec moultes explications par un moine sympa qui a répondu à toutes nos questions. Les bains chauds sont divins. Au matin, méditataion avec les moines et leur chants, ça dure environ 3/4 d'heure. Bref, à refaire

lidiaold

Ms. / 30-39 / Italy

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Apr 2019 Stayed 05 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


It was a fantastic experience in a peaceful and lovely place. Everything was organized perfectly and timings were respected. The room was big and provided with everything. Common bathrooms were clean and quiet. Foot-on is absolutely comfortable to sleep in and both dinner and breakfast were outstanding! All the food was prepared with attention and well presented. It was a real pleasure to participate in the morning prayer and see how monks live daily. Absolutely a must do once in Japan.

Céline

Ms. / 30-39 / Netherlands

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Apr 2019 Stayed 03 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


If you are having doubt due to the price, have no fear.It was just perfect, the diner on its own was mind blowing, the room and bed arrangements super comfy. All was sparkling clean. Really enjoyed the morning ceremony

Jeanne d’Arc

Mr. / 30-39 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 06 Apr 2019 Stayed 03 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Just perfect! Personal very kind and helpfull. The morning with the monks was amazing and the food was wonderfull.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: