Reviews of Koyasan Wakayama Ichijoin - JAPANiCAN.com

Ichijoin 一乗院

Reviews of Ichijoin

Total Score

4.7Based on 63 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.7 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.7 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.7

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Stephen

Mr. / 60+ / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Nov 2018 Stayed 05 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A beautiful and luxurious place to stay, with superb food and a wonderful morning worship ceremony.

WBERRAZEG

Mr. / 30-39 / France

Friends

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 May 2018 Stayed 06 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Fantastic ! We loved it

Alex

Mr. / 40-49 / Australia

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Jan 2018 Stayed 21 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Wonderful stay! Perfect location, everything is within walking distance. Just few steps to the main bus stop. Beautiful temple with beautiful pond and Japanese garden. Very friendly and helpful staff who are able to hold a simple conversation in English. Room is spacious, cosy and well equipped with heater, humidifier and safe box. Ensuite even has an auto opening and closing sensor washlet which is amazing. Food is very nice but a bit too much. Dinner includes 4 full trays of food which we hardly finished them. The morning ceremony is a must. We will definitely stay in Ichijoin again.

nekoneko

Ms. / 30-39 / Switzerland

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 23 Oct 2017 Stayed 16 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


It was my 2nd time in this temple, so I knew what to expect. The food was the highlight of our whole Japan journey! Be sure to get there really hungry as you will receive a lot (!) to eat. As we are vegans, the shojin ryori was perfect for us. Our room was with garden view and toilet. We also used the bath in the evening which was very nice because it was cold outside. Wonderful ceremony in the morning! Thank you very much and see you soon we hope.

Alex

Mr. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Friends

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Jun 2017


Stellar experience. Room was all that we could have hoped for and food was fantastic. They even had somebody in the staff that could speak fluent english and no amount of effort was spared to make us feel welcome.

Paris

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Jan 2017


I have stayed at Ichijoin Temple 2 years in a row and both years it was an amazing, once in a lifetime experience. The temple is located a minute walk from the Town Centre where the bus drops you off - there are no english signs at the temples so memorise the Kanji characters and it's easy to find. The monks and other staff a very friendly always willing to help. The meals were definitely interesting - I couldn't identify half of what I ate and even though I didn't eat all of it (but tried everything), it was very filling. The temple itself was very cold (stayed early January) but the rooms are quite warm and there is a heater which you can change the temperature to your liking. There is a morning prayer service at 6:30am which is worth getting up early for.

Overall a great experience when you are wanting to experiences a variety in Japan. The town itself is lovely and quite but would only recommend a day there.

Delphae

Ms. / 30-39 / Canada

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Oct 2016


An extraordinary experience in a wonderful temple. The food experience is amazing and the hosts are very attentive. Beautiful location. There is a lovely public bath space for men and women on the main floor. Koyasan is such a special place. I would highly recommend Ichigoin as a temple stay (shukubo).

Tony

Mr. / 60+ / New Zealand

Married Couple

4.0
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 13 Oct 2016


We booked a "mountain view" room. However, the only view we had was of a car park. The photograph of the room showed a small balcony with chairs - this was a mis-representation. Not having a toilet in the room was no problem. Everything else was great. In particular the meals were a revelation - such delicious vegetarian food!

pinochiette

Ms. / 30-39 / France

Married Couple

3.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Jul 2016

gdgp

Mr. / 30-39 / Portugal

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 Jun 2016


An amazing experience, great room, great food, great flexibility to our needs and great experience in the morning cerimony/prayer. Even though we speak a little Japanese it was not needed since there was an english speaking monk to receive us and give any information needed. For example, about the food, our curiosity was high and our Japanese insuficient to satisfy it in japanese.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: