Reviews of Koyasan Wakayama Rengein - JAPANiCAN.com

Rengein 宿坊蓮花院

Reviews of Rengein

Total Score

4.8Based on 13 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.4
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.8

ulla

Ms. / 60+ / Germany

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Apr 2018 Stayed 09 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The owner was tremendously helpful with requests on our side.

Shanzer

Ms. / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Apr 2017


Excellent service, newly renovated room, great location in center of town. Very happy with our stay.

JayNat

Ms. / 50-59 / Australia

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Apr 2017


Renegin was a delight! Spotlessly clean,delicious and beautifully presented meals,great location in the centre of Koyasan with bus stop out front and beautifully polite and kind staff and monks. The women's bath was a little small. Morning prayers were simple and the monk kindly gave us a small tour after the service. I would definitely come back. A wonderful stay!

Laurasan

Ms. / 30-39 / Germany

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Apr 2017


Wonderfull experience! Thank you.

DK

Mr. / 30-39 / Taiwan

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Apr 2017


With fairly new facilities, Rengein locates in the center of the Koyasan tourist sites and right next to Konkoubu-ji. The manager speaks good English and can communicate well enough about the room and board basics. The tofu meals (shōjin ryōri) were not only delicious but also beautifully decorated. My tatami room was super neat with a toilet that is modern. Don't miss out the morning chanting and the brief talk about the temple from the monk.

Zoe

Ms. / 60+ / Australia

Family with Older Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Apr 2017


The hotel room is immaculately clean, the room service is very good and it is conveniently located, close to every major landmark.

Agustin

Mr. / Under 20 / Argentina

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 31 Oct 2016


Beautiful and quite place. Everyone was very kind and helpful. Food was really unique and after the morning meditation the monk explained me the history of the temple in english. This was the highlight on my trip.

One little recomendation! Since there was a lot of unique food maybe writing the menu for foreigners can be good. It can really make the experience better. But the staff explained what I was eating perfectly!

Yam

Ms. / 20-29 / Thailand

Friends

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 11 Jun 2016


Though they have no pictures of this place showed, we went there with our eyes closed and the real place just blew our minds! We all fell in love with their vegan food, especially the variations of tofu. We enjoyed the best and pleasant stay ever in our trip. Public bath gave us the brand new Japanese experience. Would love to come back again, for sure!

ajalota

Mr. / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Friends

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Apr 2016


The location of this place is perfect - very close to all the sights in town. The place itself is also new and modern. We enjoyed or dinner and breakfast, it was an adventure to try vegetarian shojin ryori. The morning prayer was also enjoyable, and we got a tour of the temple and its history.

The only letdown was the public bath area; the pool wasn't as big as I thought - maybe it can fit 3 people? The women's bath wasn't hot enough, which my friend had to adjust on her own.

Overall a great experience. Great place to stay, and Koyasan is a gorgeous town to visit. Highlight of my trip to Japan!

Kevin

Mr. / 40-49 / Austria

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Apr 2016


Simply excellent. A perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle and space for quiet thought and seclusion. The staff at Rengein was incredibly friendly and helpful. The temple is easy to find and centrally located in Koyasan in easy walking distance from all the wonderful sights. I highly recommend attending the morning prayer service which was definitely a highlight. The food is beautifully prepared and delicious. In short, I can highly recommend Rengein for your stay in Koyasan! I am looking forward to the next time.

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: