Notice
Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 31 December 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 3 January 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Souji-in 総持院

Reviews of Souji-in

Total Score

4.3Based on 18 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.3 Service : 4.4
Food : 4.1 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.4
Location : 4.5 Access : 4.3

Trish

Mr. / 60+ / Australia

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 May 2019 Stayed 18 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A fabulous experience with delicious food and great facilities.

danilopand

Mr. / 50-59 / Italy

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : -
Reviewed 18 Aug 2018 Stayed 15 Aug 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room

Juul

Ms. / 50-59 / Netherlands

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 14 May 2018 Stayed 08 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Great guesthouse in a remote ski area that is also lovely in spring. Very nice host who speaks English, great food and a nice room. Highly recommended when you're visiting the area.

Carissa

Ms. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Jan 2018 Stayed 22 Jan 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We visited in winter so the whole area was a beautiful snowy peaceful landscape. We stayed in one of Soujin's incredible traditional Japanese suite rooms overlooking the gardens, there were kimono for us to wear to dinner, the vegetarian meals (it's recommended), were top notch taste, quality and presentation - an truly unique experience. Unfortunately nearly all the coffee/souvenir shops and restaurants were closed but some hot food was available from the Family Mart. The temple's location is a short walk from the main bus terminal at the front end of town, for convenience purposes suits however apart from the museum and a few temples, most others are a walk through the town. The temple stay itself involved access to the morning ritual from 6-6.50am, we sat and watched monks chanting then received a page of Buddhism info in English at the end. Only criticism, group/individual info/talks re monks daily lives would of been a helpful insight, perhaps with an activity involved.

skeap

Ms. / 40-49 / France

Friends

1.5
Room : 1.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 1.0
Reviewed 24 Nov 2017


Cher pour rien. Aucun intérêt

Zubial

Mr. / 40-49 / Switzerland

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 05 Jul 2016


Very good food, quite and nice place

jl.canada

Ms. / 20-29 / Canada

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 13 Apr 2016


Our stay at this ryokan was absolutely lovely. Koyasan is a beautiful little town, relaxing and away from the madness of the cities. The meals served at Souji-in were some of the best of my life. English spoken by a number of the hosts. Very chilly in April (bring warm clothes!) but the hot bath at the end of the day warmed us up completely. Slept so peacefully in the tatami room, very comfortable futon and super warm blanket.

Peng & Daisy

Mr. / 30-39 / Sweden

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Apr 2016


My wife and I had a wonderful time staying at this shukubo. It was location in Koya-san was pretty good and we reached it after a easy 5-10 minute walk from the bus stop. Although staff at the inn didn't have very good English, they spoke enough to get us checked in and introduce us to the facilities and showed us how to use the baths, etc. The room were beautifully appointed in the traditional Japanese ryokan style with tatami floors. The vegetarian kaiseki-style dinner they served us in our room was really fantastic, and the breakfast was amazing too. We also attended the morning religious service they held in the adjacent temple, which was a wonderful and unique experience for us. All in all, we really loved this place and we wished we could have stayed longer!

ajmaus

Australia

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 05 May 2013


The quality of the room, the view, the reasonably central location, and the staff at Souji-in can only be praised.

Special mention needs to be made of the amazing vegetarian dinner and breakfast brought to our room - which we rated higher than the dinner we enjoyed at a 2 Michelin star restaurant in Kyoto in the week following.

Souji-in is worth every cent!

Lloyd

Philippines

Group

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Aug 2012


The Vegetarian Course is a must-try. Though not as filling and savory as any other meal you might be used it, this is something you can't easily experience elsewhere else. And access to all the other sites are pretty convenient as well. Also, highly recommend taking a long soak in the bath.

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: