Reviews of Kinosaki Onsen/Hiyoriyama Kaigan Hyogo Sennen no Yu Gonzaemon - JAPANiCAN.com

Sennen no Yu Gonzaemon 千年の湯権左衛門

Reviews of Sennen no Yu Gonzaemon

Total Score

4.6Based on 125 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.5 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.5 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.5
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Keng

Mr. / 40-49 / Thailand

Family with Young Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 29 Mar 2018 Stayed 25 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Crab Cuisine Simple Course Dinner with Large Crab Suki Nabe Hot Pot (approx. 1.3 Servings/Person) Plan


Very nice staff.good taste of food,free hotel parking lot closed to hotel.room is big.all guest will get onsen pass to access pubic onsen.

TW Heng

Mr. / 50-59 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 26 Oct 2017 Stayed 13 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [In-Room Dining] Monthly-changing Kaiseki Course Meal with Wagyu Beef Steak + Colored Yukata Rental Plan


Lovely little inn in Kinosaki Onsen. Polite and cheerful hospitality. Comfortable futon beds. Enjoyed the in house onsen and small outdoor onsen. We used the onsen pass (additional charge) to go onsen hopping. Good dinner and breakfast.

NK

Ms. / Under 20 / Japan

Friends

3.7
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Oct 2017 Stayed 20 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [In-Room Dining] Monthly-changing Kaiseki Course Meal with Wagyu Beef Steak + Colored Yukata Rental Plan


Very quaint ryokan. Great location in the middle of the main street with easy access to all the public onsens; in fact the ryokan is opposite the Yanagi no yu. Food is mediocre but service is warm. Inhouse onsen is very small and nothing to shout about, so I would recommend using the public ones. Room size is usual by Japanese standards but rather old albeit well-maintained. Overall pleasant and value for money.

lois

Ms. / 20-29 / United Kingdom

Friends

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Sep 2017 Stayed 15 Sep 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [In-Room Dining] Monthly-changing Kaiseki Course Meal with Wagyu Beef Steak + Colored Yukata Rental Plan


Room was large and spacious for the both of us. Had a choice of coloured yukata for our stay which was part of our package. Very good location in the middle of the main street with free shuttle bus there. Service was great- the staff were very helpful even though they spoke limited English. Our attendant Riya (sorry if spelt incorrectly) worked especially hard to communicate with us in English and answer to our needs. It was a nice quiet picturesque little town with plenty of little shops and food stores.

Only negatives were that the room smelt slightly of cigarettes. In comparison to the outside onsens the ryokan's onsen was slightly small but it’s not really a negative as you get a free pass to visit all the outside public onsens.

Overall it was a great stay and good value for money. Visited several cities in Japan afterwards but Kinosaki Onsen remained one of the highlights!

Chaochana

Mr. / Under 20 / Thailand

Group

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Dec 2016


Overall is very good. We enjoy every moment here in this ryokan and this city.

From the picture, entrances look small but the room space is good for two people.
The Japanese style room is like I have seen in the picture and a manga. Feel good for it.
We also have dinner and breakfast. The food is really good for me. This is the best meal I have had in Japan for this trip.

Staffs are super nice. very good service. I had also ask for a wheelchair for my mom. They managed to have one for me in short time.

Rodney

Mr. / 50-59 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Dec 2016


Had a wonderful stay. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great food and great service. Highly recommended.

Marcel

Mr. / 20-29 / Canada

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 18 Nov 2016


Excellent hotel, staff is very accommodating and helpful. Food was great and room was amazing with our very own onsen facing a small garden. The only downside side was it was hard to find for a non Japanese speaker.

Terratravel

Ms. / 50-59 / U.S.A.

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Aug 2016


We had a great experience ad enjoyed the food. It was amazing.I highly recommend it! I recommend they change the rugs in the hallway, they were a bit old and had stains.

Fara

Ms. / 50-59 / United Kingdom

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Apr 2016


We really enjoyed spending our first two nights in Japan here. It was also our first ryokan experience and it was great. Service was excellent, as staff was very polite and friendly.They greeted us with a warm welcome and gave us an even warmer goodbye. The reception and the corridors are a bit dated and the carpet in the hall and the stairs would benefit from more careful cleaning, but we didn't have any issue with the room or the spas. The room was bright and spacious and the onsen was pleasant. We very much liked that breakfasts and dinners were served in our room and find the quality of food very good. On one occasion only we thought that the crab rice was overcooked, but overall we were very happy. Little English was spoken and our Japanese is non-existent, so more often than not we were not sure of what exactly we were eating, but this was not a problem. We would highly recommend this ryokan for a genuine Japanese experience.

Noon

Ms. / Under 20 / Thailand

Family with Older Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2016


A good located ryokan on the main walikng street of kinosaki . We got a room which is visible in hotel picture above . Nice room with small hot tub . And toilet separate area. From room window you will see a street and beautiful canal . Foods are delicious come with a nice decoration . They served us a small plate of good beef . Probably Tajima beef. Shuttle bus privided just on arrival .
Staffs are nice and speak english. I didn't try hotel onsen so no comment on that . But I love the small red bath tub inside our room .

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: