Ryokan Matsumae 観光旅館松前

Reviews of Ryokan Matsumae

Total Score

4.6Based on 21 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.4 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.2
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.6

Next 10

1 2 3

Melissa

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Other

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 04 Aug 2019 Stayed 02 Aug 2019 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The ryokan is easy to find from the train station, super close to Nara Park, and close to restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was delicious and the hospitality fantastic.

Kerstin

Ms. / 40-49 / Germany

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 May 2019 Stayed 17 May 2019 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


Wonderful stay and very warm atmospehere. Great western and japanese breakfast.

Nicole

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 16 Apr 2019 Stayed 02 Apr 2019 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


We really loved staying at this ryokan. They owners were so welcoming and accommodating- it was so nice to be greeted with a smile. It was incredibly close the Nara deer park and the rest of the temples and attractions, and in a convenient location between the old quarter and the newer shops/restaurants. The room itself was incredibly clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here!

Edward

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2019 Stayed 01 Apr 2019 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


We absolutely loved it here. Our hosts were kind, thoughtful, professional, and thorough. The ryokan was charming and immaculate, and all the facilities were wonderful. We really enjoyed the breakfasts here, and the location was perfect for exploring Nara. Of all the places we stayed in Japan, this was one of our favorites. It felt like an authentic and unpretentious traditional ryokan experience.

FREDERIC & VERONIQUE

Mr. / 50-59 / France

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 01 Apr 2019 Stayed 30 Mar 2019 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


Very nice people, helpfull (good advices), efficient. Rooms are fine (except bathroom a bit outdated), possibility to park for free a car, option for Japanese or Western breakfast.
Very well located to visit Nara.

AJ

Ms. / 50-59 / Australia

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Nov 2018 Stayed 06 Nov 2018 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


What a little gem Ryokan Matsumae was! Conveniently located in the old quarters of Nara, within easy walking distance to the shops, temples and pagodas, super helpful and friendly staff and really clean and quiet room. Would highly recommend.

Japan traveller

Ms. / 60+ / Australia

Friends

4.0
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 10 Jun 2018 Stayed 06 Jun 2018 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


This is a good place if you want a traditional ryokan experience. They are delightful people who run the place, but for me, I found the futon uncomfortable, and did not want to bathe publicly.

Ema

Ms. / 50-59 / France

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 May 2018 Stayed 13 May 2018 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


Vert cheerful welcome on a Nice and peaceful ryokan. No hôtel Springsteen un this ryokan but à large Nath to relax.

osandpo

Mr. / 50-59 / Thailand

Friends

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Apr 2018 Stayed 19 Apr 2018 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


Friendly, helpful, welcoming people and clean, pleasant rooms. Breakfast (we had the Japanese option) was excellent each day
Location is fantastic for the park and good for the two main stations

JPB0201

Mr. / 50-59 / France

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Apr 2018 Stayed 22 Mar 2018 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


Parfait

Next 10

1 2 3

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: