Nara Hakushikaso 奈良白鹿荘

Reviews of Nara Hakushikaso

Total Score

4.6Based on 42 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.3 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.7 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.3
Location : 4.5 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Melanie

Ms. / 50-59 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 01 May 2019 Stayed 18 Apr 2019 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room


Booked this hotel through JapaniCan.com. Liked the location as it was very close to train station, Nara Park and price was more reasonable than others. Stayed in a traditional Japanese room with a futon on the floor. Staff very courteous and helpful. Had a western style breakfast and it was very good. Although it said payment was due on arrival, we actually paid when we checked out. Staff speaks
English. Wasn't comfortable with onsen as you could not wear a swimsuit. Other Japanese guests did not make you feel welcome in public bath. However, would highly recommend hotel. Nara was a highlight of our visit to Japan

Japan trip

Ms. / 40-49 / Thailand

Solo Traveler

3.0
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 24 Mar 2019 Stayed 15 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


I didn't have a high expectation for the facility as I read many comments which indicate that this hotel is dated. However I was hoping to receive warm hospitality and great meals which were included in the price. I was dissapointed with the food and the luck of warmth from the staff. The reception old lady was polite enough to handle my check-in. The room service staff was not that hospitable and the dinner and breakfast was not that fresh although just like most Japanese set meals, they did look colorful. The taste of the dinner and breakfast was no where near being delicious. The public onsen was so small and it filled with Japanese tourists a short while after I went in. So I had to get out of the small bath which could only hold 4 people maximum. Overall I wouldn't recommend this place.

Mr. and Mrs. Perth

Ms. / 50-59 / Australia

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 29 Jul 2018 Stayed 21 Jul 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Kaiseki Course Dinner + Free Admission Ticket (1 per Guest) to 1 Nara Temple Plan


We were very happy about our very first Ryokan and Onsen experience in Nara Japan. Definitely our highlight and very memorable
experience! The whole staff were very kind, respectful and helpful and couldn't ask for more. Would return in a heartbeat and stay longer though a bit pricey.

Ikke

Ms. / 50-59 / Netherlands

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 May 2018 Stayed 08 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


IT was a Nice stay in a Japan room

Lili

Ms. / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Apr 2018 Stayed 06 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Nara Prefecture Wagyu Yamato Beef Shabu-shabu Plan


We enjoyed our stay at Nara Hakushikaso very much- room was quite spacious and staff very helpful!
We opted for the Shabu Shabu dinner, served in our room, which was amazing and a great success with our kids too! The fact they also had yukatas in kids size was also another plus!
Would recommend to any family if staying in Nara!

eli

Ms. / 40-49 / France

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Apr 2018 Stayed 05 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Wonderful japanese ryokan. We enjoy our traditional Japanese dinner, so delicious. The staff was really nice and helpful. That was great.

Ken

Mr. / 20-29 / Singapore

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Nov 2015


The ryokan is very lovely and easily accessible from the subway. The service provided by the staffs were excellent. We really enjoyed our stay.

Sue

Ms. / 50-59 / Malaysia

Other

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Apr 2015


Nice, comfortable hotel. You feel like home - with all the help with food, drinks and how to wear the traditional dress! Very accommodating. Not crowded and homely type of ryokan. very near to Kitketsu Station, food and cafe.

Machine

Ms. / Under 20 / Australia

Other

4.4
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Mar 2015


Nice place. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Within walking distance of sights.

Machine

Ms. / Under 20 / Australia

Other

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Mar 2015


Great service. Room was nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Shower was great!

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: