Notice
Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 31 December 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 3 January 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Shigisan Gyokuzoin 信貴山玉蔵院

Reviews of Shigisan Gyokuzoin

Total Score

4.5Based on 6 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.8
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.4
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.2

1

hugobl

Mr. / 40-49 / Spain

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2019 Stayed 24 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Buddhist Vegetarian Cuisine Dinner with No Meat or Fish Plan


I spent three nights and loved it. Everyone was very friendly, especially Mr. Nozawa, the chief monk, who even teached me some meditation. I was on my own for most of the time, though. The early morning rituals and ceremonies are great (5AM), very visual and rythmic. Food was great, although I went for the vegetarian option. Walking around the temple area in the evening, with all the lamps, is amazing. I think I paid around 2.200Y for my taxi from Oji station (the first driver didn't know where it was). On my way back I took a bus.

Lucie

Mr. / 60+ / France

Couple

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 14 Sep 2019 Stayed 11 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Kaiseki Course Dinner with Seasonal Mountain & Seafood Delicacies Plan


Very interesting experience.

Florence

Ms. / 20-29 / Belgium

Couple

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 08 Apr 2017


Wonderful experience! Amazing complex in the hills outside of Nara/Oji. We are litterally staying in the temple among the monks. The temple with several shrines and sanctuaries is beautiful and very quiet. Taking a stroll after nightfall when all the lanterns are lit is really breathtaking. staying among the monks while they attend to their duties and prayers is an unique experience. The monks are really friendly and happy to make you discover their customs. For example you can attend some of their offices with them. The traditional meals are also an experience in and of themselves. The access is not the easiest but it is worth it. Ten minutes by cab from Oji station or 20 Minutes by bus (but one every hour more or less)

Laurence

Ms. / 50-59 / France

Solo Traveler

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 27 Oct 2015


A very specific experience, with a worm welcome by the monks and the monastery's staff. The access is a little difficult, especially for foreigners, and I recommend going there with a taxi (the return way can be done by public bus). I was very impressed by the atmosphere, especially at night. The contact with the monks was very pleasant.

zilu

Ms. / 20-29 / China

Solo Traveler

3.0
Room : - Service : -
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : - Access : 3.0
Reviewed 18 Jan 2015


因为最终没有入住,所以无法评价环境如何。那天在奈良的游客咨询点咨询了怎么去,结果被告知的私铁搭乘路线是错误的,最后因为语言不通,各种问路奔波了三个小时还是没去成。建议入住的游客按照介绍所说乘坐JR之后打的士(1800日元左右)。想坐私铁的话,坐到“信贵山口”出站后的左手边,就是上山的吊车(最后一班是18:10分),但是私铁很容易坐错站,因为很多没有屏幕显示,而且复杂,我从奈良去的转了几次车,但是从大阪去好像更快更方便。呵呵可能缘分未到那天都到山脚下了,下次去再去住。回来之后登陆网站之后才发现那天客服有发来邮件,服务不错。

twostarspapa

Mr. / 40-49 / South Korea

Family with Older Children

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 14 Oct 2014

1

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: