Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site.


Urban Hotel Kyoto アーバンホテル京都

Reviews of Urban Hotel Kyoto

Total Score

3.7Based on 44 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 3.7 Service : 3.9
Food : 3.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.6
Location : 3.8 Access : 3.5

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Jepzel

Ms. / 30-39 / Canada

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 19 Mar 2018


Staff are very friendly, Great location, room is clean. Would recommend and would book again in the future. :)

lo

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 07 Mar 2018 Stayed 02 Mar 2018 Meals No meals
Room Type Single room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


The hotel and the lobby looks outdated but the rooms are actually nice and the space is a bit bigger than your regular japanse rooms, or at least the layout we had. Hint, during winter season the A/C is shut down and only heating is provided in rooms. The rooms for me are too warm so we asked for a fan, and the opened the windows; it was actually nice.

dooks

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Couple

3.8
Room : 1.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 May 2017


The room was incredibly tiny, to the point where it was uncomfortable to stay in. This is really unfortunate as the service was fantastic (it was easy to communicate with the staff in English) and it is in a very good spot for sight seeing around the area.

Sergio

Mr. / 30-39 / Brazil

Solo Traveler

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 15 Nov 2016


A great hotel. You need to walk a bit from Inari Station to the hotel (its not in Kyoto Station, but if you have JR PASS its not a problem! And even if you dont have, sometimes the cost of the train from Kyoto to Inari is cheaper than the price of a hotel in central Kyoto), so I recommend have a GPS or a map for the first time, can be helpfull to find. Its not so far and the neighbor is residencial, pure Japan! You have a 24h convenience store in front of the hotel, so it´s great. The crew is very polite and nice. They help you a lot. The hotel is clean, organized, laundry easy and quick. WiFi great, reaches even in the street outside the hotel. I enjoyed a lot! Recommend for sure!

Margot

Ms. / 20-29 / France

Couple

2.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 2.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 19 Apr 2016

lmm

Mr. / 40-49 / United States of America

Couple

1.5
Room : 2.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 1.0 Access : 1.0
Reviewed 04 Apr 2016

Yoda

Ms. / 20-29 / United Kingdom

Married Couple

1.7
Room : 1.0 Service : 1.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : -
Reviewed 01 Nov 2014


The major problem with this hotel was the service. We were booked into a smoking room even though we specifically requested a non-smoking room. When we asked to be booked into the right room, they said that there was nothing they could do till the next day. The stay for that night was unbearable! We complained to JAPANiCAN who eventually got us a refund for that night, but it was very stressful because the hotel did not want to take responsibility for their mistake. Their excuse was that all the rooms were taken but we had made our booking at least 6 weeks ahead of time, so this was a pathetic excuse. They also had really bad wifi, in that it barely worked and we had to keep calling to get this fixed. In a nutshell, i wouldn't stay here again - on the otherhand JAPANiCAN's customer service was brilliant.

Sara

Ms. / 20-29 / Spain

Couple

2.8
Room : 2.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 30 Sep 2014

ThePlanner

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 15 Apr 2014


Good for the price. Close walk to the Inari Shrine and Inari Station.

Australia

Other

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 25 Apr 2012


Older Business hotel with Japans normal outstanding service.
Just remember being a business hotel the rooms will be small.

The hotel is a 10min walk to a JR train station (there is a bus pickup close to it) and the train can be crowded in peak hour.
This was not a problem for me but some may find it an issue

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: