Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori もみぢ家別館川の庵

Reviews of Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori

Total Score

4.5Based on 256 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.4 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.3
Location : 4.5 Access : 4.2

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Cece

Ms. / 30-39 / Canada

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Oct 2019 Stayed 23 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We were blown away by Momijiya! Momijiya Bekkan is the more secluded location surrounded by nature and I really wanted to get a full experience during my first visit to Japan. We emailed them ahead of time asking for pick up from the train station and promptly our friendly driver picked us up and our bags were kindly carried in and out by the staff during our stay. Our room was spacious with a private bath and bathroom/shower. The location is absolutely breathtaking and tucked into a beautiful mountain valley by a river. We came in the off-season, so it was quiet, relaxing, amazing staff and delicious food. We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to return again soon! It is respectful to do some research if you experience a ryokan for the first time so that you can fully enjoy your time here, and make sure you have cash with you. Momijiya staff will make sure you are well taken care of! We left with a big smile, and I’m very happy we came! Loved it!

Claricetyw

Ms. / 30-39 / Canada

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Oct 2019 Stayed 16 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [30-Day Early Bird Discount] Special Price Plan


My partner and I enjoyed this splurge. We booked the private bath option thinking that the bath will be in the room. But actually it just means there's a private bath outside for you to booked for 45 mins for about 2200yen (forgot exact fee). Or you can use the public baths for free. My internal clock wakes me up at 6am, so I was able to go do a morning soak in the public baths, and lucky me, I was able to enjoy it by myself. They speak okay English, if not there's a binder and signs in english, so it's very understandable even with the language barrier. The food was great. We went to Shoraian the day before and they are in par with taste. Super filling. You can go outside and explore the village a bit. There are a few temples and lots of scenic photo spots. We were so relaxed, our backpacks felt lighter when we left.

Amazing Location!

Mr. / 50-59 / United States of America

Married Couple

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 14 Oct 2019 Stayed 10 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room

Matt

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Oct 2019 Stayed 03 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The food was fantastic! Just not always within our normal palate. The plating and presentation was superb!

Greg

Mr. / 50-59 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2019 Stayed 28 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


In finding our way to Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori, we became lost but some how we were located by a staff member who picked us up and promptly delivered us to the Ryokan. The amazing hostess and all the staff were the most wonderful in everything involved with our stay. The food was an experience not to be missed. We will always remember our stay for years to come and will definitely make it a stop if and when we come back to Kyoto.

Relaxed & refreshed

Ms. / 30-39 / Canada

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Sep 2019 Stayed 25 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan Special Price Plan


Lovely and very accommodating staff. Loved the food. Keiseki dinner and Japanese set breakfast. Everything was well cooked and very thoughtful. The keiseki dinner was served in our room. The grounds are beautiful, I wish we had more time to explore. We had room with a private open air bath that we could use at our leisure. The decor was a bit dated but we enjoyed the traditional touches like the sliding doors and tatami mats. The ryokan is in the mountains away from the city. We were worried about transportation but the shuttle service was easy to set up through email. The staff are extremely welcoming. Our housekeeper laid out tea when we arrived, after our dinner, and after breakfast, creating a relaxing atmosphere perfect for a ryokan.

Sydney

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Aug 2019 Stayed 19 Aug 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan River Terrace Cuisine Dinner with Wagyu Beef Sukiyaki at River Terrace Plan


I cannot recommend this ryokan enough! If you want a 100% authentic Japanese inn experience this is the perfect place. I chose to stay at the annex location. The room was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and spoke great English. The food was extraordinary. And the location is just breathtaking.
My room had a private bath that was so perfect in the evening. And Maiko even performed at dinner on the terrace!
The also offer a convenient shuttle to and from a few JR stations.
I will definitely be going back the next time I visit Kyoto.

Cherrie

Ms. / 60+ / Australia

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Jun 2019 Stayed 03 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


A truly memorable Japanese experience! Stunning location, amazing food and even our house robes and socks taken care of. The staff explained the whole set up and organisation very clearly and were so helpful for us tourists who didn't quite know how this works! The low table and futons on the floor could be challenging for some! Shuttle pick up and drop off from a local station made for an easy stay. Would highly recommend this as a way of seeing a very different and authentic side of Japan.

Rich

Mr. / 50-59 / United States of America

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Jun 2019 Stayed 16 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan River Terrace Cuisine Dinner with Wagyu Beef Sukiyaki at River Terrace Plan


Is it expensive? Yes. Is it a once in a lifetime experience? Yes.

When I booked I was a little frustrated by the ability to reserve the exact room I ordered. But I hung with it and when we arrived we were surprised that dinner was on the patio (instead of the room) and that a Meiko would perform at dinner. It was a fantastic time. They gave us casual wear (a Japanese robe) to wear, a great dinner and the staff couldn’t have been friendlier. Highly recommended.

Tony

Mr. / 30-39 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : - Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Jun 2019 Stayed 18 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


The grounds and surrounds of this ryokan are just beautiful. Away from the touristy distractions of Kyoto city, you can really let your hair down here and unwind.

We felt badly for the baggage handlers who insisted on carrying our rather large cases across the rope bridge entrance and up a flight of stairs to our room, but they did it without complaint.

The 懐石 (kaiseki) breakfasts and dinners were delicious and generous. しゃぶしゃぶ (shabushabu) was an absolute highlight.

The first of the two nights we stayed, no one occupied the room next to us - this was perfection. So quiet and still. Just the view from our window, chirps of birds in the trees and distant sound of people enjoying a meal by the Kiyotaki river as the sun went down.

The service throughout our stay was impeccable. The staff went about their business quietly, were unobtrusive, super efficient, polite, and accommodating. We were treated like royalty and thoroughly enjoyed this uniquely Japanese experience.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: