Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori もみぢ家別館川の庵

Reviews of Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori

Total Score

4.5Based on 245 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.4 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.3
Location : 4.5 Access : 4.2

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Tony

Mr. / 30-39 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : - Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Jun 2019 Stayed 18 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


The grounds and surrounds of this ryokan are just beautiful. Away from the touristy distractions of Kyoto city, you can really let your hair down here and unwind.

We felt badly for the baggage handlers who insisted on carrying our rather large cases across the rope bridge entrance and up a flight of stairs to our room, but they did it without complaint.

The 懐石 (kaiseki) breakfasts and dinners were delicious and generous. しゃぶしゃぶ (shabushabu) was an absolute highlight.

The first of the two nights we stayed, no one occupied the room next to us - this was perfection. So quiet and still. Just the view from our window, chirps of birds in the trees and distant sound of people enjoying a meal by the Kiyotaki river as the sun went down.

The service throughout our stay was impeccable. The staff went about their business quietly, were unobtrusive, super efficient, polite, and accommodating. We were treated like royalty and thoroughly enjoyed this uniquely Japanese experience.

DaveandMichelle

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 22 May 2019 Stayed 17 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


We loved our stay at this ryokan. The staff are welcoming and helpful, and were patient with us (we do not speak non-Japanese speakers). The building and its amenities are beautiful. The night of our stay, a nearby group of youths were having loud fun at a nearby property. So, we were (very slightly) disturbed for about 1 hour until they went to bed for the night (around 9 pm).

Ashley H

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 May 2019 Stayed 27 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


My party of 3 had originally arrived a little passed the check-in time to discover that we were to be taken by shuttle down a winding road and into a delightful change of scenery. I was surprised. Momijiya Bekkan is a hidden gem in the busy city of Kyoto. We were greeted by the staff upon arriving at the second location and guided to our room. The nakai-san (room attendent) was very courteous and aided us in learning about the accommodations of the room and facility. The room was definitely more traditional and fairly worn. I was a bit disappointed with the general size of the private bath and how the communal bath did not have a view (for women.) My party reserved for both dinner and breakfast options; both kaiseki were creative and delicious. For its price, I was expecting a little more but, with being close to Golden Week and in Kyoto, the prices may be justifiable.

Eugenia M.

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Apr 2019 Stayed 08 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


We had an amazing stay at Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori. Loved everything about this Inn. We never tried kaiseki dinner before, so it was very interesting and pleasant experience. If it was summer time we would definitely stay there for a couple of nights next time. We took a taxi cab from Arashiyama to get to the Inn, it cost us $25. Next day hotel van will take you to a train station. Very convenient location, close to Kyoto, don't hesitate to book it.

Frida

Ms. / 20-29 / Sweden

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 28 Apr 2019 Stayed 21 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Wow! The good feeling starts from taking the shuttle bus to the ryokan. Beautiful surroundings.
Great service from start. The staff was really kind and made you feel comfortable.

We had a room with a private bath wich I can highly recommend.The dinner was served in our room. Really beautiful presentation of the food and tasted Good.

This was truly a nice experience that I would highly recommend.

kepgirl

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 25 Apr 2019 Stayed 17 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This place is truly magical. We had a great night stay here. Booked a room with a private bath overlooking the woods and it was like a dream come true. The room was a traditional Japanese room, yet had some modern features like a TV, bidet, outlets. The futon we slept on was on the firm side (it is a futon after all), but extremely comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly, and while not fluent in English, spoke enough so that we understood. We had the Kaseiki dinner, which was phenomenal. Such a beautiful presentation. Considering all that was included in the price, our stay was extremely reasonably priced. I took one star off for access as the shuttle pickup was a bit unclear, so we ended up taking a city bus. There was no signage in English indicating the route to the hotel, but it's a bit of our own fault since we didn't take the shuttle. I highly recommend this ryokan for a once in a lifetime experience.

Jack

Mr. / 20-29 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 23 Apr 2019 Stayed 20 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


An amazing experience, highly recommended.

We took the shuttle service from Tenjingawa station to the onsen, we were greeted at the entrance by the staff who made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left.

The food was delicious and the hot springs were amazing. Our traditional Japanese room was beautiful and we loved it.

If you're looking to experience some Japanese culture and hospitality, this is for you.

tizjacky

Mr. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2019 Stayed 08 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


really enjoy the stay there. foods are so marvellous and proper. staff are very sincerely n scene is so stunning & peaceful!

Ichifun

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Apr 2019 Stayed 29 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We stayed in the private cottage with the private onsen and it was relaxing - just what we needed after touring the busy streets of Kyoto. The service and food were impeccable! Would stay here again.

Owen

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Mar 2019 Stayed 09 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We had a great time spending a night at Momijiya Ryokan. It was the best experience for both of us. The food course was amazing. Service was awesome. The location is very peaceful. Most importantly, it makes us feel like a vacation after visiting many busy tourist attractions in Tokyo. You won't feel disappointed to stay here. A+++

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: