Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Arashiyama Onsen Saishiki no Yado Hanaikada 嵐山温泉彩四季の宿花筏

Reviews of Arashiyama Onsen Saishiki no Yado Hanaikada

Total Score

4.5Based on 259 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.4 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.2
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.6

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Jill

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Jul 2019 Stayed 25 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [60 Day Early Bird Discount] Kyoto Arashiyama Kaiseki Course Dinner Plan

FW

Mr. / 20-29 / Australia

Friends

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Jun 2019 Stayed 26 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [60 Day Early Bird Discount] Kyoto Arashiyama Kaiseki Course Dinner Plan


Good experience, but poor value for the money. Japanese-style room was comfortable, but a bit worn. Dinner and breakfast were set meals, tasty and felt very traditional. We also made our own tofu at breakfast, which was a fun experience. The public onsens didn’t have good views and were susceptible to urban noises, and everything else about them was just okay. It didn’t have the same relaxing atmosphere as a truly remote ryokan like in the mountains outside of Tokyo or in Sendai, but the upside is that the place is very close to shops, stores, parks, and other attractions in town. The service was okay; English is good enough to get by, but the staff seemed very curt even if helpful. It seems they charge high prices due to the popularity of Arashiyama and the convenience of the place, but the establishment itself leaves more to be desired. We would rather incur inconvenience to go to the more remote ryokans than come here again.

Pat

Ms. / 30-39 / Singapore

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 25 May 2019 Stayed 18 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We made a right choice to stay in this ryokan for 3D2N. The special room with its own private open air hot spring bath was superb for us, especially when the weather was still a bit chilly. Dinner for 2 nights were really good! Enjoyed my stay there and will definitely be back there again.

Ken

Mr. / 30-39 / Singapore

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 May 2019 Stayed 16 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Monthly Changing Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


A very wonderful ryokan & onsen experience. the service was great and the staff can speak some English, enough to communicate and understand rules & requirements. The onsen was very nice and relaxing, though we only tried the open air one. Another plus point is that it's tattoo friendly.

polo

Mr. / 30-39 / France

Family with Young Children

3.3
Room : 1.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 26 Apr 2019 Stayed 23 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [2 to 3-Night Stay Discount] JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Hi, after booking for 2 adults and 2 children we arrived at the Ryokan at 2:00 pm / rooms are ready only at 3:30 pm but the hotel staff is very helpful and take care of the luggage. When finally entering the room after checking in, we couldn’t stay more than 5 minutes, the room is so tiny (8 m2) it is impossible to fit the four of us, we had to leave the ryokan and find another place to stay.
In the description, we though we will have both a living room and a room but actually it is only one living-room that is change into a room for the night.... not possible for a family of four people... maybe it would fit a single person of a couple but when additionally you are over 1.80 high it is not possible....

Dani

Ms. / Under 20 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Mar 2019 Stayed 05 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Monthly Changing Kaiseki Course Meal Plan

Lisa

Ms. / 50-59 / Australia

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Jan 2019 Stayed 15 Jan 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Monthly Changing Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


Amazing and very traditional place, location is perfect. Later checkout time and availability to keep luggage would have been better

Family travelling with two babies

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Family with Young Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 20 Nov 2018 Stayed 12 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Monthly Changing Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


Very cosy ryokan with onsen. The food was amazing and there was a good variety of food in our meals. Dinner was served in the room and made it much easier for us as we had two babies with us. It was a bit far from the stations, not walkable with luggage but they do provide shuttle service from the station. The private bath session was very affordable and great for us too. Highly recommend with families with young children.

Lily Goh

Ms. / 20-29 / Malaysia

Friends

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 06 Nov 2018 Stayed 30 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Monthly Changing Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


First class onsen hotel in Arashiyama. Property is a bit dated but the hospitality of our host can be feel throughout our stay. Onsen is very comfortable especially the roof top and outdoor ones. The healing properties is easily observed even after we ended our 7 days trip. My advice, stay in the onsen as long as you could ! Kaiseki dinner offers a good cultural experience and was one of our best meals during our trip in Japan. Same goes to the morning set breakfast, taufu is a must try, the method they prepare and serve tofu is an art which pleases our eyes and warmed our bellies. All in all this is the place to be !

lew

Mr. / 60+ / Australia

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2018 Stayed 24 Sep 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Monthly Changing Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


Spent two nights here well worth the visit. Very helpful and caring staff. A must for any visitor to Japan

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: