Notice
Due to system maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 7:00 JST on Dec. 16 (Thurs).
Beginning from Dec. 16, 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN.com will no longer support older versions of certain browsers and operating systems. Click here for more details. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 Dec. 31, 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 Jan. 3, 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Minshuku Koumekawa 民宿 古梅川

Reviews of Minshuku Koumekawa

Total Score

4.4Based on 38 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.4 Service : 4.6
Food : 3.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.2
Location : 4.6 Access : 4.6

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Fred

Mr. / 30-39 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Oct 2018 Stayed 17 Oct 2018 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


Excellente adresse ! Très authentique. Simple et traditionnelle avec des hôtes attentifs.
Située dans un quartier idéal pour découvrir le shoren et descendre tranquillement à contre courant du flot de touristes. A recommander !

Margau

Ms. / 30-39 / Canada

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 May 2018 Stayed 13 May 2018 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


This place was very nice and quiet, the lady who owns the house doesn't speak english but she is very friendly and welcoming! I stayed 4 nights, i had a single room, japanese style with futon, there are also double rooms. The bathroom and toilets are shared with the other guests, everything is very clean. The small garden at the back is very cute, i would stay there again if i come back to Kyoto! Thank you!

OzPete

Mr. / 40-49 / Australia

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 28 Apr 2018 Stayed 21 Apr 2018 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


Very traditional Japanese rooms in a family run ryokan on a little back street, 15 minutes walk from the Yakasa Shrine and Gion. The owner is very helpful. I muddled through without any Japanese, but some basic Japanese would be helpful. Clean rooms, bathrooms and toilets. The large upstairs room (which I wasn't staying in) has a wonderful view from the balcony onto the courtyard garden. You could order a tradition Japanese breakfast. You do need to be back at the ryokan by the late evening to get into the hotel.

tb

Ms. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Nov 2017


The staff was very welcoming.

Tiziana

Ms. / 60+ / Switzerland

Friends

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Apr 2017


We very much enjoyed our 5 d stay in this cute traditional Japanese house (annex building) close to a subway/local train station. It is a a convenient venue to visit some of the shrines and Gion as well as to get the feeling about daily life in a neighborhood away from beaten tourist tracks. The hosts were welcoming and friendly. Definitely a place we can recommend to those who are looking for something different.

Helny

Ms. / 40-49 / Indonesia

Friends

4.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2017

Helny

Ms. / 40-49 / Indonesia

Friends

4.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2017


The place is really nice and offer true Japanese traditional atmosphere. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are bit small yet spacious enough to accommodate the required number of the occupants. The breakfast is simple and just right amount for us. If the faucet in the room can have warm water will be great (especially during the winter). 1 bathroom is equip with heater but have the open window to the garden that made is less private. The other bathroom doesn't have heater (so, it's a bit challenging to that a bath in there. Other than that, I and my friends really enjoyed our stay in Kyoto. The location is not too far from Gion, you can actually walk.

Gordon

Mr. / 20-29 / Hong Kong

Solo Traveler

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Jan 2017


Plus: Very beautiful and delicate decoration. A beautiful garden. Large and comfortable bathroom. Friendly host.
Minus: Cannot bath later than 10pm. No heater.

Ronin_1973

Mr. / Under 20 / United States of America

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Mar 2015


この民宿に泊まることはとても素晴らしかったです。朝御飯はとても美味しかったです。民宿は地下鉄から歩くことが簡単でした。今年と去年この民宿に泊まりました。

Staying at this minshuku was wonderful. Breakfast was delicious, and a very easy walk from the subway. I stayed at this minshuku both last year and this year (2015). NOTE: The staff does not speak English well, so some Japanese knowledge is a plus.

Nihonshu2U

Mr. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Solo Traveler

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 08 Feb 2015


Loved this place - not recommended if you cannot speak basic Japanese, though. V small but spacious Japanese tatami rooms. Extremely good value and excellently located. Lovely owner who is delighted to help you (in Japanese!) Highly recommended.

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: