Notice
Due to system maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 7:00 JST on Dec. 16 (Thurs).
Beginning from Dec. 16, 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN.com will no longer support older versions of certain browsers and operating systems. Click here for more details. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 Dec. 31, 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 Jan. 3, 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Yamamoto Ryokan (Kyoto) 山茂登旅館

Reviews of Yamamoto Ryokan (Kyoto)

Total Score

4.1Based on 23 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 3.7 Service : 4.5
Food : 3.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.1 Access : 4.3

Next 10

1 2 3

Luis

Mr. / 20-29 / Spain

Solo Traveler

4.6
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 May 2019 Stayed 26 Apr 2019 Meals No meals
Room Type Japanese-style room


Very well located, mere minutes walking distance to Kyomizudera and other nice places. Nice and accomodating staff, and spacious room. Reccomended.

Nicky

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Solo Traveler

1.2
Room : 1.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 1.0 Access : 1.0
Reviewed 12 May 2017


I've stayed at ryokans before. This one by far has been my worst experience.
The place smells of mold and cigarettes.
My room was in very poor condition.
The "hot spring" smelled of chemicals.
I skipped breakfast that I paid for in advance as I heard them microwaving it in the morning.
The staff was friendly though.
If you are looking for an authentic experience, look elsewhere.

the_dude_abides

Mr. / 40-49 / Canada

Solo Traveler

4.6
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Jul 2016


Very happy with the accommodations, room and bathing areas were very clean, hot tub was excellent and service was outstanding. Futon very comfortable. Highly recommended for budget conscious travellers.

AR

Ms. / 20-29 / India

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 17 Sep 2015


Our hosts were most welcoming and kind. The place was impeccable. We had a plan with no meals so can't say about the food, but the baths are typically Japanese and perfect if you are lucky enough to have them all to yourself :-)

kjm26

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 23 Jul 2015


The room and the hosts at Yamamoto were great. They greatex us, pointed us in the right direction for lunch and let us store our bags until check-in. The pillows were our only complaint as they were a bit hard but otherwise we were comfortable. We were not accustomed to traditional Japanese breakfast but the food was fantastic. Unique flavors and dishes left us pleasantly surprised and satisfied. The location was easy, 1 bus or quick cab from Kyoto station, walking distance to Gion and other stations made it easy to explore. Nearby 7/11 was the only ATM we could find for non Japanese accounts.

ECJ

Ms. / 50-59 / United States of America

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Jun 2015

Isa

Ms. / 20-29 / Germany

Solo Traveler

4.7
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 06 Oct 2014


The stay at Yamamoto Ryokan was truely enjoyable. The staff was very helpful with everything, the Japanese breakfast delicious and the hot bath in the communal bathroom welcome after a long day of exploring the city.

The Ryokan is also conviniently located near Gion, and several temples are close by.

If you wish to stay in a family-run Ryokan this is the place to be.

Fonyaesss

Ms. / Under 20 / Japan

Friends

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 20 Aug 2014


Staff was very friendly and understanding. Access from the train station is a bit arduous. The nearest bus stop is uphill a bit, the other closest one is way downhill. Overall a great experience!

Esther Tang

Ms. / Under 20 / Malaysia

Family with Young Children

3.6
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 01 Aug 2014


A simple Japanese-style ryokan where the rate is affordable. Service is good and location is good near the world heritage temple and train station.

Wendy

Ms. / Under 20 / Canada

Family with Older Children

3.8
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 26 Mar 2014


Absolutely lovely hosts that went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. My one complaint is that the house is old and for the price we paid ($190 night) I believe we could have stayed in a much nicer ryokan that was a bit more central to all of the temples and shrines.

Next 10

1 2 3

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: