Yoshi-Ima 祇園吉今

Reviews of Yoshi-Ima

Total Score

4.3Based on 83 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.2 Service : 4.6
Food : 4.3 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.8
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.4

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Aulstinwithanl

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Apr 2019 Stayed 11 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Service was amazing. Rooms were comfortable and cozy, but could use some minor touch-up details. Great location. There is no on seen, just a family bath area that has to be reserved in advance. The tub in the bath was barely big enough for my wife and, and we're small people. However, I'm really nitpicking, and the experience is one that I will treasure. Staff was ultra polite and accommodating. Would highly recommend.

Clara

Ms. / 60+ / United Kingdom

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 12 Apr 2019 Stayed 06 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This was a wonderful way to immerse ourselves in Japanese traditional culture. The food was beautifully presented and plentiful. The server was really friendly, all the staff were helpful. Eating looking out over our little garden was tranquil. The room was traditional but bathroom facilities were modern. Would definitely recommend staying at the Yoshi Ima. Thank you ladies for great service during our stay

d2108

Mr. / 40-49 / Germany

Married Couple

3.0
Room : 1.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : - Access : -
Reviewed 13 Apr 2018 Stayed 03 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We were very dissappointed with the room which was very old (but not in a good way) and inconvenient. In particular the bathroom needs an update urgently. I did not even dare to use the shower which so far has not happened to me in any other (regular) hotel. For this very high room charge we would have expected a much better quality. Overall I cannot recommend this ryokan.

del

Ms. / 50-59 / France

Family with Older Children

2.6
Room : 2.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 2.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 28 Mar 2018 Stayed 15 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Ryokan sans vraiment de charme, trop touristique, pas d'authenticité ni raffinement....
seul point positif : la jolie vue sur le petit jardin japonais
accueil et personnel expéditif, on attend mieux d'un ryokan surtout dans ces prix là !!!

CamilleEtTanguy

Ms. / 20-29 / France

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Dec 2017


We really enjoyed our stay at Yoshi-Ima. It's a very good choice for a first night in a true Ryokan.

bk

Mr. / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Couple

2.3
Room : 1.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : -
Reviewed 29 Jun 2017


After paying $300 per night to stay at Yoshi Ima I'm sorry to say that we feel scammed. The building is a modern construction but in need of refurbishment. Paint is peeling from the walls, woodwork is scratched, and black mould is present in the bathroom. The interior is dark and has a musty atmosphere. Our traditional dinner although nicely presented caused stomach cramps and diarrhoea the following day.

Avoid.

Vania

Ms. / 50-59 / Brazil

Couple

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 18 Jun 2017


Wonderful experience!!!! Outstanding staff! Akane, at the front desk is very sweet and helpful! Booked a shiatsu massage for me with an incredible masseuse. The lady who took care of us, Tomoko, was the nicest person I met in Japan. Served our meals in the room and made our Japanese style beds every night. Do not expect the comfort of a standard hotel! But it is surely an unforgettable experience.

Lauren

Ms. / 60+ / United States of America

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 06 Jun 2017


A lovely, tranquil and welcoming place. Extremely nice service.

Professor Mark

Mr. / 50-59 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 May 2017


Very authentic ryokan on the edge of the Gion. A bit of a splurge but dinner and breakfast included bridges the gap. Staff is very accommodating and ryokan with its internal courtyard gardens makes for a rich experience.

Kyoto experience

Ms. / 20-29 / Hong Kong

Couple

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 12 May 2017


Service was good and is at centre of Gion
The food was traditional taste of Kyoto cuisine

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: