Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 6:00 JST on Nov. 14 (Thurs).


Nissho Besso 日昇別荘

Reviews of Nissho Besso

Total Score

4.5Based on 68 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.5 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.5 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.6

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Gabby

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Oct 2019 Stayed 07 Oct 2019 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Special Price Plan


I can't say enough positive things about this lovely ryokan. The service is absolutely outstanding: the staff are always on hand to greet you, take your shoes, and help with whatever you need. The room was the largest we had during our two-week trip to Japan and very clean and beautiful. We loved that the staff leave origami and a cute note on your pillow every day -- one of the many unique and personal touches this hotel has to offer. The breakfasts were absolutely beautiful, delicious, and plentiful. The hotel is in an excellent location in a beautiful area of Kyoto. Definitely recommend staying here if you are traveling to Kyoto, and we hope to return again!

Marlau

Ms. / 50-59 / Switzerland

Family with Older Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 19 Apr 2017


Staying at the Nissho Besso was a delightful experience. The Ryokan is perfectly situated, the personel is very considerate and welcoming. The Japonese breakfast is a completely new experience.

Dan

Mr. / 30-39 / Germany

Group

1.8
Room : 1.0 Service : 1.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 4.0 Access : -
Reviewed 15 Apr 2017


The location is good, but that's all positive I can say about this place. The hotel is in a run-down house from the 70s and there is nothing charming about it. It urgently needs to be refurbished (or better torn down). We had a 'traditional' Japanese room, which was also run down and had zero charm. The hot bath (male) was not very inviting. Breakfast was ok. Staff were not very attentive. Overall, I would strongly advise against staying at this place -- I certainly regretted to have booked this. It's overpriced and no pleasure at all to stay at.

Lizzy

Ms. / 50-59 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 04 Apr 2017


Luxurious ryokan - more space than we needed for 2 adults and 3 teenage boys. Fresh flowers in room. Full selection of amenities. 5 star ervice" Kimonoed server brought us tea & served it in our room upon arrival. Everytime we came in or out 2 desk staff literally ran to help us with our shoes. They kept our luggage all day after check-out. Public bath was large & well equipped. They were careful to clarify that it was not a true onsen because not mineral/spring water. Enjoyed this ryokan so much we asked to stay a 2nd night to experience their in-room dining, but they were fully booked. Great location: 5-10 min walk from Karasuma-Oike Station down high-end boutique/coffee house lanes. 5 min walk to covered shopping lanes. Within 10-15 min walk of a few museums, many restaurants, fish market & the river.

gina

Ms. / 20-29 / Singapore

Friends

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Feb 2017


A great place to experience Japan culture!

Brooksie

Ms. / Under 20 / United States of America

Couple

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Jan 2017


First time at a Ryokan, but really loved it and in a great central location. Breakfast was interesting, and everyone attends in their pajama's or Yukata's in a dining hall. We were there in January which limited Kaseiki to more pickled items then fresh because of the season.
Some language barrier with the staff, but they were very accommodating and had a few english instructions printed out. Their is no onsen, but a large Sento (showers and large hot bath) for men and women that is open to all guests from 6-9am, and evening hours.

Oriol Comas

Mr. / 50-59 / Spain

Friends

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 19 Apr 2016


We had a wonderful time. The staff was always very kind and helpful to our requests. The breakfast was simply splendid. The only thumb down was the works on the ryokan façade, but we highly recommend it.

Bob

Mr. / 40-49 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.6
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 07 Mar 2016


Great location on Sanjo Street, just 5min walk from main shopping area and/or the local subway. Japan tradition is alive here, and people were elegant and sweet and sincere. Sleeping on tatami was great, along with "rice" pillows. Traditional Japanese breakfast took getting used-to, if you haven't had it before. It was always a pleasant surprise that they had automatic "turn-down service" for arranging the beds/futons. Exra bonus was the green tea (Ocha) whenever we arrived from outside. We didn't try the onsen at Nisson Besso, so no comment. It was approximately 10min taxi (1600yen) from Kyoto station, or you can 'get close" by local subway.

piano0o

Ms. / Under 20 / Singapore

Family with Young Children

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 07 Nov 2015


Very comfortable stay. One of the best stay in my Japan trip.

First time Japan visitor

Mr. / Under 20 / Canada

Friends

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 06 Jan 2015


Had a great 2 night experience at Nissho Besso. The service was excellent and both the rooms and hotel were extremely clean, which is to be expected because shoes aren't allowed inside. It was a bit of a walk to and from the subway station, 5 to 10 mins, but that street has a lot of convenience stores and restaurants along the way. The ryokan offered a unique Japanese experience, something that I think all visitors to Japan should experience at least once during their stay, whether at this ryokan or another. I would definitely recommend Nissho Besso to anyone visiting Kyoto.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: