Reviews of Karasuma/Shijo-Kawaramachi Kyoto Hiiragiya Ryokan - JAPANiCAN.com

Hiiragiya Ryokan 柊家旅館

Reviews of Hiiragiya Ryokan

Total Score

4.8Based on 82 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.7
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Red

Female / 60+ / U.S.A.

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Oct 2017 Stayed 03 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Serenity in the midst of a vibrant, ancient city. An experience of a lifetime.

William

Male / 60+ / Australia

Couple

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Sep 2017 Stayed 14 Sep 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We were made to feel entirely welcome and at home in this wonderful ryokan. The food was about as good as it got for us staying at some of the best hostelries around Japan, and the service was a delight. Yes, an experience worth indulging in.

FroggiePaul

Male / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Sep 2017 Stayed 21 Jul 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Exceptional service.

Dave

Male / 40-49 / Australia

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 29 Aug 2017 Stayed 21 Aug 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Superb traditional Ryokan experience service and attention to details are impeccable. The friendly staff and owner very welcoming. Had a memorable stay here and the location was perfect for exploring the highlights of Kyoto. Many thanks.

Mike - CO, USA

Male / 40-49 / U.S.A.

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Jul 2017 Stayed 22 Jul 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Japanese-style Room(Recommended)


Absolutely wonderful experience. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Japan. The food, presentation, personal service and onsen were exceptional, but the highlight for us was the garden view room itself in which we stayed. We were perfectly content gazing at the fountain, moss and surrounding greenery and with a private onsen bath in the room, there was simply no reason to want to leave. Dinner and breakfast served in the room were wonderful to behold and taste. The traditional attire and charm of our room's attendant were wonderful to experience and we were thrilled when the sixth generation owner was introduced to us humble travelers. This is the Japan you have always imagined.

Pol

Male / 20-29 / Hong Kong

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 Feb 2017 Stayed 12 Feb 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [In-Room Dining] Kyoto Kaiseki Course Dinner Plan


One of our most wonderful stay, ever. Can't describe how the room ( new wing ) was amazing. The private bath, the extraordinary futon and the prettiest/zennest balcony made it all. The service was simply perfect and the food authentically breathtaking

Rich

Male / 50-59 / U.S.A.

Couple

3.5
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : - Access : -
Reviewed 27 Dec 2016 Stayed 25 Dec 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room


I must say, I was somewhat disappointed. The ryokan was highly recommended to me by people I knew (a work colleague, also by my sister) and was well-reviewed. But I didn't think it lived up to the billing. The kaiseki meals in the room were not spectacular at all. It also bothered me somewhat that the hotel seemed to lack common areas & outdoor space which my wife and I could use. (I think the ground floor rooms have gardens, but there is no common garden available to upper floor rooms.) My room was ostensibly in the "new wing" but it looked tired, like it was in need of a redo. (I recognize that ryokan should probably look a little old fashioned, but there were things that showed simple disrepair, such as electrical outlets being put in wall holes that were incorrectly sized.) It just seemed over-priced for such a limited experience. Maybe others have had better experiences, so I could be an outlier.

teatew

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Dec 2016 Stayed 14 Dec 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


What a wonderful way to spend an evening (or multiple) in Kyoto - away from the hustle and bustle of Gion. Tucked in a residential district off of a tiny street, quiet and quaint. From check in all the way through the bed making at the end of the night, everyone there makes you feel part of the family and the place feels like home away from home. Old school charm and a load of history behind every room. Check it out if your budget allows!

aquatata

Female / 30-39 / China

Family with Young Children

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Aug 2016


The service is fantastic. When we arrived, the staff can call our name and very warm welcome us and the check-in process is quite smooth. The bath experience is traditional and has own privacy. We took the one year old baby, even she was enjoyed the stay. They prepared the relevant baby stuff in the room and made us feel very considerate and welcomed. The food was definite amazing, the display is outstanding. The lady owner greeted us formally when we were going to start the dinner at our room. The staff can speak well English. The location is convenient. Unique and nice stay and we would love to choose Hiiragiya if we will visit Kyoto again.

ella

Female / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 29 Jul 2016


Very good food and offering hospitality services.a very tranditional building in the heart of kyoto.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: