Notice
Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 31 December 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 3 January 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Miyamaouan 匠の宿深山桜庵

Reviews of Miyamaouan

Total Score

4.4Based on 187 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.5
Food : 4.5 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.3 Access : 4.2

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Jo

Ms. / 50-59 / Thailand

Family with Young Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 22 Dec 2018 Stayed 19 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan [13 Day Early Bird Discount] Irori Kaiseki Meal with Charcoal-grilled Hida Beef Plan


Staffs cannot converse very well in English.

gogojohnny

Mr. / 40-49 / Canada

Family with Young Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 12 Dec 2018 Stayed 09 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [13 Day Early Bird Discount] Irori Kaiseki Meal with Charcoal-grilled Hida Beef Plan

Tim

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Group

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 Nov 2018 Stayed 31 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan [13 Day Early Bird Discount] Irori Kaiseki Meal with Charcoal-grilled Hida Beef Plan


The Western-style room was fantastic and large enough to fit 4 American adults with no issues. The hot spring that came with the room was amazing and it offered views of the fall foliage and the surrounding mountains. The private outside hot springs were also very nice, but we were biased towards our private onsen in the room. Dinner and breakfast were also absolutely amazing with more than enough servings of wonderfully flavored food! The bus station is about a 5-10 minute walk away, but the hotel provides a shuttle not only to the bus station, but also to Kamikochi park! All of the staff we spoke with spoke very good English and were very polite and helpful. Overall, it was an expensive stay, but was totally worth the money and experience! We'd do it again!

Jeanne

Ms. / 30-39 / Spain

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Oct 2018 Stayed 15 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


This ryokan was all we wished for. We were looking for a quiet place with hotsprings in the middle of nowhere and we found it. The food was amazing. Worth every penny.

Alex

Mr. / 40-49 / Australia

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Oct 2018 Stayed 21 Sep 2018 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


One word "Superb". Service was very responsive. Speak very good English. Staff were very friendly. Room size were generous for a family of 4 with teenage children. Food was abundant and they took good care in preparing them. We stayed 3 nights and everyday the breakfast were unique and different. We had a Hida Beef dinner set one night and it was excellent. Onsen facility was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Miyamaouan. Only negative was the availability of on site parking. Overall it was 5 stars experience.

jack-san

Mr. / 60+ / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 May 2018 Stayed 24 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan Welcome Spring Sale

artist

Mr. / 30-39 / Canada

Solo Traveler

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 1.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Mar 2018 Stayed 09 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan Irori Kaiseki Meal with Charcoal-grilled Hida Beef Plan


Tricked me with DCC. Dynamic currency conversion is not something I have ever seen but when I paid my bill I was offered to pay in My home currency or Yen when using my credit card. I was told it was the same amount and I foolishly chose my home currency. After doing the math and researching DCC I found out that I paid much more than my original bill and it ruined my experience. The place is beautiful and the staff are polite but what kind of management would try and trick you with DCC? DCC is a third party to the credit card company and shares the extra profit with the merchant for getting you to use it. It is my own fault for not being educated but I trusted them and was betrayed. Please don’t use DCC and choose a different hotel if you can.

HG

Ms. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Jul 2017


Fantastic experience, best lodgings we stayed in during our two week trip in central Japan. Onsen facilities are superb, food is heavenly and staff are ultra friendly and helpful. The room is spacious yet very cosy. Everything worked perfectly.

KhunNgew

Ms. / 40-49 / Thailand

Family with Older Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 19 Apr 2017


Very nice place to stay. Great staff. Dinner and breakfast are superb. Thus place will be one of our destination next visit to Japan for sure.

bd

Mr. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Couple

3.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 17 Apr 2017


In a word: underwhelming.
I had been so excited about staying. I had booked 6 months in advance, and at near USD500 thought we'd be in for a real treat.
Top notch mountain views? Nope. Apparently, we only 'thought' we'd arranged a more 'superior' room!
Maybe cuz it was 'busy season' (April) or maybe cuz it's got 72 (!!) rooms, the experience was, er, less than 'personal'.
I'd best describe it as semi-sincere and delivered on an industrial-scale. We felt like we were being 'processed' through the place.
Sorry to say: underwhelming and overpriced. What a shame!
(Nice bits? 1. Private onsen but very hard to get into. 2. Breakfast 3. Mountain views in the posh sections (obviously USD500++)

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: