Kagaya Ryokan 加賀屋

Reviews of Kagaya Ryokan

Total Score

4.5Based on 128 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.5
Location : 4.5 Access : 4.2

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Frank

Mr. / 40-49 / Ireland

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Apr 2019 Stayed 27 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Kagaya really is a special place. This was our first trip to Japan and Kagaya could not have been a better introduction to the onsen experience. Miyako, the okami, was so, so lovely and attentive. We left our details with her in case she ever decides to visit Ireland. We'd love the opportunity to return the hospitality, although, sadly, the level won't be up to Kagaya standards.

nizora

Mr. / 60+ / Australia

Couple

2.5
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 05 Mar 2019 Stayed 24 Feb 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


"You get what you pay for", unfortunately the saying did not apply to our stay. We experienced the worst dinner and breakfast for the price we paid for. This hotel is way overrated!

von

Ms. / Under 20 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 20 Dec 2018 Stayed 16 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Kaiseki Course Meal with Earthenware-grilled Noto Wagyu Beef Plan

von

Ms. / Under 20 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

3.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 20 Dec 2018 Stayed 16 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Kaiseki Course Meal with Earthenware-grilled Noto Wagyu Beef Plan

Jules

Ms. / 50-59 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 16 Sep 2018 Stayed 11 Sep 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [60 Day Early Bird Discount] JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Kagaya deserves its position at the top of the Ryokan tree in Japan! Service is impeccable, and by the book. The dinner and breakfast served here makes all the other ryokans look bad, especially the one we went to immediately after checking out of Kagaya.
The baths are decent, and hotel facilities include an in-house traditional theatre (where there was a free evening show of ceremonial fish-cutting which was beyond me, to be honest), as well as an in-house revue (chargeable). The in-house shopping street stocks all the local handicraft and delicacies, so it makes up for the lack of commercial activity within walking distance of the hotel.
I would recommend anyone planning to visit the Noto Peninsula to stay here.
Although the cost of the hotel seems high, you really get great value in terms of service, facilities, and great food.

ROSSAP

Mr. / 50-59 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 01 Jun 2017


Fantastic experience. We not only were "treated like royalty" but were upgraded to a room where Japanese royalty stayed many years ago. Service was gracious and helpful, never overwhelming. Food was fantastic - - beautiful presentation and flavors. An incredible treat with memories to last a lifetime (or our next anniversary trip).

MonikaBxl

Ms. / Under 20 / Belgium

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 03 May 2017


Very big modern ryokan with excellent service, food and shops. Great ocean view from our room on the 16th floor (we got an upgrade). The little town is not very interesting, but there is a nice walking path along several temples and sanctuaries.

marquis

Mr. / 40-49 / United States of America

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 26 Apr 2017


Booked through Japanican site and had assumed all rooms were bay facing + the room showed smoking....we booked anyway given all the talk from Japanese about this place. Easy to arrive at station, bus was there waiting, amazing service to get us checked-in however after check-in, the room was corner room facing parking lot...the upgrade was still amazing however after 5 different ryokan onsens and paying almost $700 US for the room, my expectation was ocean/bay view. We talked the hotel personnel and (not complaining) but expressed my assumption that I had thought I was getting the view to begin with. Although they clarified what I had actually booked, they pulled of an amazing change of room to have both private onsen outside + bay view....which more than met our expectations. This place was amazing for a large scale ryokan onsen. We were very happy with everything here! the place was impeccably clean, the food was exquisite and perfect portions both dinner and breakfast.

CHOO from Singapore

Mr. / 50-59 / Singapore

Couple

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : - Access : -
Reviewed 02 Feb 2014


Food was a disappointment. In room onsen water is uncontrollable. Thank the hotel for a lovely gift in celebrating our anniversary.

e

Hong Kong

Couple

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 11 Aug 2010


Very luxurious onsen hotel with good sea-view and very nice rooms

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: