Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site.


Minshuku Goyomon 民宿五ヨ門

Reviews of Minshuku Goyomon

Total Score

4.4Based on 38 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.3 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.1
Location : 4.6 Access : 4.1

Next 10

1 2 3 4

DianaB

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Couple

3.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 07 Dec 2015


This place is a great option to stay if you would like to be away from a touristy spot like shira-kawa-go. The lady is amazing and would serve you in the best manner on day 1. If offered drinks make sure you are aware of the extra payments that will be expected of you when you leave as the food does not include drinks nor is this explained at the time.

Rom34

Mr. / Under 20 / France

Married Couple

3.7
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 10 Jul 2016


Perfect night in a beautiful place!! Amazing!

Tree

Ms. / 30-39 / Switzerland

Couple

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 09 Oct 2014


Really nice experience

Aileen

Ms. / 40-49 / Singapore

Solo Traveler

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 22 Dec 2016


I had a very restful stay here at Goyomon. I had a room to myself with a heater. Slept very well on the futon bed. The lady owner was very welcoming and kind despite my very poor Japanese language skills. I stayed one night and enjoyed a warm, hearty dinner with a fish grilled at the hearth. Getting to Ainokura village is a short uphill walk from the bus stop that was located just outside the village. Once I arrived at Ainokura, I was delighted to find a small village with beautiful thatched roof houses and peaceful surroundings. I left my bag at Goyomon and did abit of exploring in the wooded areas at the back of the village. Next morning, breakfast was a sumptuous spread of good, local dishes, very satisfying on a cold morning.

Shing

Ms. / 30-39 / Singapore

Friends

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 26 Jan 2018 Stayed 23 Jan 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Very good simple home cooked meals! Simple and nice experience with the host. If take by bus, be prepared for a walk (10mins).

Yuan

Ms. / 40-49 / China

Other

4.0
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 10 Jun 2016


Ainokuraguchi is a more quite and nature village than Shirakawa-go. I am glad to choose to stay in Ainokuraguchi. The owner try her best to supply a good service. The food is good and exceed my expectation.

Nice stay and beautiful site.

Mr. / 60+ / Hong Kong

Married Couple

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 20 Apr 2015


Ainokura Village is a beautiful place. When we arrived, the village was covered partly with snow. Much less tourist and a quiet little village. The minshuku is large and has good clean (though basic) facilities. Lady owner is a cheerful and smart lady. She even led the folk song singing after dinner. I had a great time here. But local bus does not allow reservation and Ainokura is a mid-way stop. So, do plan your arrival and departure time carefully to allow a plan B in case you cannot get on the bus, esp when leaving. Highly recommended.

Moonchoo

Ms. / 40-49 / Malaysia

Friends

4.0
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Feb 2015


It's easy to find and the host is very hospitable! I'd a very good night rest at Goyomon. Too bad I didn't have a chance to have dinner as I thought dinner is served at 5.30, but infact dinner can be requested at time one desired! (as long as not too late like 9pm) Breakfast was simple but nevertheless great! The host can converse very very simple english!:) I'd recommend it to anyone who opt to stay at Gokayama instead of Shirakawa-go!

J

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Couple

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 05 Nov 2015


Great experience! we always wanted to stayed in a farm house to experience the countryside of Japan. We were glad to pick Minshuku Goyomon, the lady was really friendly and hospitable and we were lucky to get the biggest room. Note that there are no walls and you are separated by just washi paper doors. We had three couples in total that night, but was lucky they were all nice and didnt make much noice when sleeping. The place was clean and we even grilled the fish just below the elevated kettle in the middle of the living room and played traditional town's instruments. Come here to enjoy a peaceful village town with beautiful Autumn scenery, slightly out of the way but worth the trip as there were less tourist.

Sally

Ms. / 60+ / United States of America

Married Couple

4.4
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 22 Aug 2019 Stayed 19 Aug 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


I love this village, Ainokura, and have been coming here since before cars were allowed to drive up here. This is a true traditional Japanese experience in a beautiful mountain setting. The food is absolutely amazing, fresh and plentiful. You should be able to sleep on futon and enjoy nature.

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: