Gassho Minshuku Nakaya 合掌民宿なかや

Reviews of Gassho Minshuku Nakaya

Total Score

4.2Based on 60 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.4 Service : 4.6
Food : 4.5 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.7
Location : 4.4 Access : 3.9

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

American looking for authentic experiences.

Ms. / 50-59 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Jun 2019 Stayed 03 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Such a unique adorable spot. definitely stay here instead of Shirakawago. Gakeyama is quiet and authentic without all the tourists walking around. The food was delicious. She cooked brook trout over the fire in the dining room. There is a local house nearby where the owner will show you how to make paper. Cute shop there as well.

Rem

Ms. / 60+ / Spain

Friends

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 06 May 2019 Stayed 25 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Buena experiencia en un magnífico entorno natural. Casa acogedora, muy amables y atentos los anfitriones. Magníficos y abundantes la cena y el desayuno. Muy recomendable.

JR

Ms. / 30-39 / Germany

Other

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Apr 2019 Stayed 11 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Wir waren an einem verregneten Apriltag in Gokayama, wodurch das Dorf nicht ganz so charmant wirkte wie erwartet. Dennoch hatten wir einen schönen Aufenthalt dort. Die Unterkunft war sehr schön. Leider waren die Hausherr*innen ein wenig schüchtern. Gerne hätte ich von Ihnen noch ein wenig mehr über Dorf, Unterkunft, Traditionen oder Speisen erfahren. Etwas schwierig war die Badsituation. Irgendwie sollte man nicht warm duschen, aber auch nicht ins heiße Badewasser steigen ... Dennoch würde ich einen Aufanthalt empfehlen.

Dee

Ms. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Oct 2018 Stayed 13 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We absolutely loved our stay here! Aionokura is difficult to get to but it's magical once there. We had such a comfortable stay and the home cooked meals were so delicious. Thank you!

Ritchie

Mr. / 50-59 / France

Couple

3.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 05 Apr 2018 Stayed 02 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Beautiful place. Kindly owners. Food was typical japanese and various.

ricprom

Mr. / 40-49 / Malaysia

Married Couple

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 26 Feb 2018 Stayed 23 Feb 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


My 2nd time to Ainokura Gassho Village. Stay for the 1st time in this property and I must say it stay for to the Ainokura hospitality, services and most of all the scenery is awesome.

Farizi

Mr. / 30-39 / Indonesia

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Dec 2017 Stayed 25 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Overall it's is a nice minshuku as I expected.

Alain

Mr. / 40-49 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Oct 2017 Stayed 22 Sep 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This is a fantastic guesthouse in the beautiful small village of Ainokura. It is at the end of the village, 10-15 minutes on foot from the bus stop. The house is beautiful, the room was very large. The food at dinner and breakfast was absolutely marvellous and the owners were very kind and nice. Overall it was a fantastic experience.

Back in Japan

Mr. / 40-49 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : - Access : -
Reviewed 04 Jun 2017


My wife and I were there for 2 nights in early April. The room we were at, a traditional tadami style room, was clean and large--could easily sleep 4 - 6 adults. As others have mentioned, food was first-class--dinner and breakfast were comprised of many different dishes made with fish (sashimi and fish roasted on the hearth in the middle of the common room) and mountain vegetables as well as soup, salad, etc. For the dinner second night, hosts prepared different dishes, even a dish made with special beef of the region. The hosts were constantly and unobtrusively going around making sure things were in order--futons were made (there were even electric warmer inside the futons), kerosene heaters were topped off, etc. Bathroom, sinks, and toilet were high-tech and clean like elsewhere in Japan. They were shared among guests but it wasn't a problem because there weren't that many guests--only 3 rooms in the house. The whole experience was enchanting. I couldn't recommended it more.

misscheester

Ms. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Apr 2017


Once in a lifetime experience! Should really try. Food was great. Breathtaking idyllic views. Hosts were awesome! Even though it was getting late they stayed in the kitchen to be on standby to attend to our requests. Highly recommended.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: