Choyomon 民宿長ヨ門

Reviews of Choyomon

Total Score

4.4Based on 31 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.4 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.5 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.2
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.1

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Tashi

Mr. / 20-29 / United Kingdom

Solo Traveler

4.6
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 10 Nov 2018 Stayed 08 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Early Autumn Sale

fabien

Mr. / 30-39 / France

Couple

4.6
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 13 May 2018 Stayed 07 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


It was a great experience. Thank tou so much to our host for the room, the dinner and breakfast : unforgetable. The village is small and really nice to discover as well as the entire valley !

Julia

Mr. / 60+ / Australia

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : -
Reviewed 16 Apr 2018 Stayed 03 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This is an old guesthouse in one of the wonderful Gokayama villages. A very kind lady prepares a meal for several guests and there is a shared bathroom. It is a special experience to stay in one of these old houses and everything is clean and orderly.

sonia

Ms. / 50-59 / Brazil

Family with Older Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Nov 2017


very nice place
warm reception

sofunky

Ms. / 40-49 / Germany

Family with Young Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 May 2017


We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Choyomon, we experienced a wonderfully warm and friendly host in a very original house. She prepared delicious meals for us, good portions and very original traditional dishes, our daughter got some special dishes she loved. Thank you so much once more for our stay!

Siew Min

Ms. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 Apr 2017


Very happy with my stay in Choyomon. The lady owner is kind. And lovely & nice food prepared. Good to have meal together with other guests and we had a good time after dinner playing with the traditional instruments. Furthermore Ainokura is a lovely quiet historical village!

Danzing

Ms. / Under 20 / United Kingdom

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Aug 2016


The guesthouse owner does not speak much English, but made us feel very welcome regardless. The home cooked breakfast and dinner was substantial and tasty. The communal bath facilities were small but open for use all day. While she didn't offer us much guidance on sights in Ainokura because of the language barrier, the village is very compact and landmarks of interest are easy to find. If you arrive early in the day, we recommend Matsuya restaurant nearby - the zaru soba lunch set with tempura was one of the tastiest meals we had in Japan.

Honza

Mr. / 20-29 / Czech Republic

Solo Traveler

3.6
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 24 Aug 2016


This place is awesome! I have such wonderfull memories from there... it may not be as comfy as some 5 star hotel, but this place is about experiencing how people lived centuries ago and that is part of it. Owner can speak only basics of English, but she was very king and always did her best to make me enjoy my stay. Surrounding nature is beautiful. In the evening and morning you can chat with other visitors while sitting around irori and share experiences, that was also very nice.

Mandarinchen

Ms. / 30-39 / Austria

Couple

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 07 Aug 2016


Choyomon is located on a good spot inside the village. The host is a very open and friendly person. The food was fresh and delicious. The atmosphere with the other guests was very relaxed. In July we were able to listen to frogs chanting in front of our window. A good nights sleep is guaranteed.

MW

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Solo Traveler

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 26 Jan 2016


Great place to stay in a unique and beautiful location! The hosts are very accommodating, and the food was excellent.

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: