Hotel Tateyama ホテル立山

Reviews of Hotel Tateyama

Total Score

4.1Based on 151 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 3.9 Service : 4.3
Food : 4.1 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.3
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.5

jo

Ms. / Under 20 / Thailand

Family with Young Children

3.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 08 Sep 2016

Onsen lover

Ms. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Couple

3.0
Room : 2.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Jun 2016


Very good location and easy access are the only good benefits of this hotel. The food was not fantastic and the drink list were too pricey esp. for sake, 180ml for almost ¥1500. Some rooms were not equipped with shower and bath, only toilets were equipped. As we were told we can book for private bath therefore it's ok not to have a bathroom in our room but the range of timing for private bath was too limited. Only available in the evening which is too rush if we need to do dinner at 1800. The private bath should be made available in the morning as well.

waisky

Ms. / Under 20 / Singapore

Friends

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 May 2016


Best location, just next to the terminal and it's a short walk to the snow wall! Also acessible to the Mikurigake Onsen area. Great experience to catch the sunset/sunrise too! *our sunrise tour to Daikanbo was cancelled so this was a consolation*

Also love the dinner they had prepared. Typical lovely Japanese cuisine; just short of the ambience - at a staggered time in the restaurant and NO yukata allowed! Breakfast was good with variety too!

Room was really outdated but still, spacious and en suite with toilet.

There was a video session introducing the region, in Japanese though. After this session, people flocked for the shower. It was quite crowded and I did not use the onsen. The dressing area was well equipped, but was crowded too.

Overall, it was a good feel/experience (though slightly pricey) to be staying at the highest hotel in Japan!

JessicaH

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Solo Traveler

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 28 Apr 2016


I chose Hotel Tateyama because of its location. Having experienced bad weather up there in Murodo I think it's the right choice. Room is quite dated but well maintained. Dinner is delicious, ditto breakfast. It's not cheap, but considering where it is, I think it's worth it.

PPiak

Ms. / 50-59 / Thailand

Family with Older Children

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 25 Apr 2016

Ple

Ms. / 30-39 / Thailand

Group

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 Apr 2016


Staffs are very helpful and nice.
Japanese room on 6th floor are very big with huge living room and wonderful view.
Private bath is not really impressed.
Western dinner is perfect

EW

Ms. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Couple

3.5
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 20 Apr 2016


酒店偏舊,房間設施一般,倘若想食法國菜晚餐,一定要預訂房間時一起做,這點 JTB 就做得不足,預訂房間時,沒有給我們選擇晚餐菜色,和式或法式。我取房時已不可以選擇法式晚餐,令我非常失望。

Anonymous

Ms. / Under 20 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 19 Apr 2016

Charly

Ms. / 30-39 / Germany

Couple

3.5
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 24 Sep 2015


The location of the hotel is stunning, even if the weather is so bad as it was in our case. The staff is very friednly and speak english. The room is comfortable, but already quite old, especially the beds. Unfortunately, the bathroom still had signs of the last occupents (hair). The food was nice and the breakfast very good.

lil stoat

Ms. / 40-49 / Singapore

Married Couple

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Jun 2015


Excellent location coz its juz above the murodo bus terminal.Spacious rooms N beautiful views fr the room. However, the bed n pillows were v uncomfortable, so didnt get a gd night slp. The hotel offered free tours which was good because u basically get to c d highlights of d mountain during d tours n programmes personally led by the GM. He will make sure everyone is safely bk in d hotel. Unfortunately commentary was in japanese even d slideshow he did. front desk staff cld sufficiently spk english but shld wait for guests to finish talkg b4 providing answers.cld provide better advice too as to the shoewear for the tours. We didnt know the raicho tour will have a trek thru snow n my husband didnt chge into snow boots which is provided foc by d hotel n even ski sticks. Hotel is also slightly old so probably nd a bit of refurbishm.

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: