Reviews of Kamikochi Nagano Kamikouchi Onsen Hotel - JAPANiCAN.com

Kamikouchi Onsen Hotel 上高地温泉ホテル

Reviews of Kamikouchi Onsen Hotel

Total Score

4.3Based on 10 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.1 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.2 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.5
Location : 4.6 Access : 3.8

1

madinem

Mr. / Under 20 / Japan

Couple

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 15 Oct 2018 Stayed 13 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We liked the location, which is a walking distance away from Kappa-bashi (15 minutes) and at the same time by the river. The onsen is wonderful, very traditional, with stone pools and wooden tubs. Rooms and food are nothing special, at a decent level for a middle-class ryokan (but hey it’s in a wilderness)

mersey

Mr. / 60+ / Malaysia

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 07 Nov 2017 Stayed 25 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


If you want a room with a balcony with fabulous views of the river and mountains this is the one.Price is high,as all hotels in Kamikochi are, but this hotel is consider good value.For me this hotel is the best. Far from the crowds at Kappa Bridge. What one wants in such a fabulous place like Kamikochi is peace where one can enjoy nature. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Would surely come back here one day.

andrewE

Mr. / 20-29 / Australia

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Oct 2017 Stayed 16 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


I was worried with other comments commenting that the onsen would be dated - but it was so charming! The facilities, decor, room and spa were all stunning! Very English friendly, excellent food and epic views of the river. Highly recommended. Beautiful hikes in the area

Mei

Ms. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Family with Older Children

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 Jul 2017


Hotel is about 8-10 minutes walk from bus stop for Imperial Hotel and takes about 30 mins to walk to Kappa Bridge. To avoid the crowd around Kappa Bridge, we choose Kamikochi Onsen Hotel.
Compared with the others, Kamikochi Onsen Hotel is fairly priced. It has wonderful outdoor onsens, and meals served are fairly good too.
We went to Kamikochi in June, which was just the season for fireflies. We saw numerous fireflies just within a short walk from hotel. Service of staff is also good. When they knew that we were going out for a walk in the evening, they immediately lend us some torches for it's so dark out there at night.

Australia

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Jul 2013


Dinner in your private room was great after time in the Onsen hot-tub.

inma

Spain

Couple

3.8
Room : 2.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 08 May 2013


The service is impeccable however the facilities are a little bit old. The worst part of our stay in this hotel was the smell of rotten that the linen of our futon bed had every night.

mfchong

Singapore

Group

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Jun 2012


We arrived late at 9pm, after the park's closing time. Having lost our way driving from Toyama, we were famished. Mr Hiroshi and the hotel staff waited for us in spite of this and dinner was warm and ready. Mr Hiroshi drove out of the park to pick us up at the entrance of the park. Thanks to the courteosy, helpfulness and warmth of the staff at Kamikochi Onsen hotel , they made the experience at the hotel a most memorable one. A very heartfelt thanks to all. The location of the hotel was great, just by the walking route which loops to Myojin and back. We had a fabulous time!

LLJC

Mr. / 30-39 / Taiwan

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 16 Nov 2017 Stayed 20 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room

Fion Yu

Ms. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 22 Oct 2015


環境設備都很好,服務一流,我們因不熟悉交通情況,從成田機場花很長時間到上高地,到達上高地已天黑,正想找尋帝國酒店確定自己位置時,酒店已派職員在車站接我們,四周漆黑一片,如果要自己找真為難,到達酒店,店員熱情招待,大部份職員都可以英文溝通,第二天早餐我因為一早外出拍攝,剛好9時回到,但餐廳收9點,但他們都留一份給我在房間食,實在感動,整體酒店服務及水準都滿分

PETER CHOU

Mr. / Under 20 / Taiwan

Other

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 14 Oct 2015

1

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: