Notice
Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 31 December 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 3 January 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Kikuya 湯回廊菊屋

Reviews of Kikuya

Total Score

4.6Based on 106 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.5

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

natca

Mr. / 20-29 / Hong Kong

Couple

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 17 Dec 2018 Stayed 02 Sep 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Located in a cute little town, wasabi is the staple. Food is great with fresh wasabai grated at every meal. Onsens are great and their system of using private onsens as first come friend serve is a highligh. Downsides are their massage chairs are typically broken down and some of the older wing rooms can be a bit dingy and have many patches in the walls. The coffee/yakurt and ramen is a great touch.

Kai

Mr. / Under 20 / Thailand

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Jun 2018 Stayed 13 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Food is beautiful. Room is cozy and spacious. Services are incredible.

LA-SK

Mr. / 40-49 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Apr 2018 Stayed 19 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Venue:
Breakfast:(Restaurant/Dining Room)
Dinner:Japanese-style(Restaurant/Dining Room)


Kikuya was a wonderful experience. The room with private outdoor bath was wonderful and spacious enough for 4 people. The service was exceptional and the food (breakfast as well as dinner) was great! The ambience was wonderful - the lounge with coffee, the 10 PM ramen service, and the the general view of the grounds. The access and parking were easy. Although English was limited - it got the job done.I'd call out IgoSan(sp?) for our dinner service. The food was amazing!

mary_smi

Ms. / 20-29 / Russia

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 16 Apr 2018 Stayed 09 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Venue:
Breakfast:(Restaurant/Dining Room)
Dinner:Japanese-style(Restaurant/Dining Room)


Service, room and dinner were great, as we expected from reviews. Our room was in a new building and hadn't had any worn out things.
All of the staff we spoke with knew English well.
The bus stop to Shuzenji station is located straight up from ryokan, not on the parallel road where bus №3 stops on the way from Shuzenji station. Don't be like us, check its location on Google maps =)

Skip

Mr. / 50-59 / United States of America

Family with Young Children

3.7
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 Apr 2018 Stayed 28 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Venue:
Breakfast:(Restaurant/Dining Room)
Dinner:Japanese-style(Restaurant/Dining Room)


A classic ryokan with lots of history attached to it. Less accustomed to catering to an international clientele than a Japanese one. Japanese-style room was spacious and comfortable but faced a noisy construction site with plastic sheeting draped over it. The charming restaurant with Japanese garden views was off limits to our American family of five. We were told that there were "only tables of 4 available" but a check the next morning revealed several tables for six. Instead, we were relegated to a soulless fluorescent-lit function room along with a Chinese family--also with small children. Service was courteous and attentive, but there was no remedy for the room noise, and no opportunity to book our dinner time (we were presented with a choice of 5:30p or 7:45p) and staff had very limited English language skill. We wanted an authentic experience, and we were pleased to have gotten one. But for the premium price, we expected more.

Lillian

Ms. / 40-49 / Taiwan

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Aug 2017


Great experience stay at Kikuya! Nice view when hot spring . The service is also good
You can also enjoy "Ra Men" 拉麵 at pm10:00 after enjoyed the hot spring!

Jules

Ms. / 50-59 / Singapore

Friends

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 19 Aug 2017


Kikuya is a historic property at Shuzenji Onsen which I consider my most favourite ryokan in Japan. The food served is to die for, and the service is impeccable.
I love that they allow free, unlimited use of private baths - you just have to queue for your turn. The extra large room (for 5) that we took was a little worn, but the rest of the property appears to have been refreshed, and is really very well kept.

They also provide free ramen for supper, if you haven't completely stuff yourself at dinner. There is a coffee lounge with free flow of coffee or tea, and yoghurt drink in the evenings and fresh milk in the mornings.
It is totally value-for-money, although the ryokan is not cheap.

natca

Mr. / 20-29 / Hong Kong

Couple

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 26 Jun 2017


Really nice place, good food though the service was not individualized but the ingrediats and freshness we top notch. Room was typical, nice and clean but some of the bath area seemed a bit old. Hot springs were great for the private outdoor baths, the public indoor was great but the public outdoor seemed a little dirty with lots of insects and leaves in the water. The private indoor bath looked dirty aswell.

JJ

Mr. / 30-39 / Singapore

Solo Traveler

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Nov 2015


Its amenities and facilities are excellent: they provide free flow of milk and drinks@ a special café and unlimited use of all sort of onsen settings with beauty products! As a man, I felt enthralled too! While English is not common at this hotel, they did their very best to ensure an English-speaking staff is always around to assist you at the concierge or at the dining area
The room is definitely large and spacious and the hotel is surrounded by greenery and waters (natural soothing music to enhance sleep) with a huge merchandise store with all sort of good food and merchandise for our purchase! It doesn't provide any wifi, which is a good thing for people who really want to enjoy in such a setting
They have many antiques like clocks, phones around
Worth mentioning, is its yukata, which is made of fine material, that I have purchased a set home!
While it is definitely pricey staying at the shuzenji area, it is still a deserving 4-5 star (out of 5)!

K

Ms. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Sep 2015


Fantastic hotel to stay, great experience if there time would like to go back for another holidays. Understand is a very resort relaxing holidays but I was with an emergency for work, kind of disappointed the hotel unable to provide wifi computer to print my document. Hope in future they able to have a business facility room for guests to do some emergency works.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: