Notice

JAPANiCAN is currently experiencing system problems that may cause errors when performing searches. We apologize for the inconvenience. Also, due to the effects of Typhoon No. 19, customer service lines may be busier than usual. If you are unable to connect, please wait a bit and try calling again, or contact us via e-mail.


Arai Ryokan 新井旅館

Reviews of Arai Ryokan

Total Score

4.5Based on 42 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.5 Service : 4.5
Food : 4.4 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.3
Location : 4.6 Access : 4.5

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Roland

Mr. / 50-59 / Indonesia

Family with Older Children

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 09 Jul 2019 Stayed 07 Jul 2019 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Special Price Plan


Fantastic experience of hospitality traditions in Japan. Beautiful property, very helpful staff, excellent service, fantastic atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Tad

Mr. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Couple

3.0
Room : 2.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 24 Apr 2018 Stayed 21 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Positives: Beautifully decorated Ryokan steeped in history. Could do with a lick of paint, however the Ryokan is ideally situated next to the river a few minutes walk away from all attractions. Onsen are all fantastic.

Negatives: Really let down by the food; both dinner and breakfast tasted as if they were all made the day before, including all the grilled/steamed items which tasted tepid at best and mostly cold and stale. Ryokan are priced as such because they provide dinner and breakfast, so the quality of the food provided shouldn’t be like this.

Overall for the price you could do much better

Phil

Mr. / 50-59 / Belgium

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Sep 2017

Tim

Mr. / 20-29 / Singapore

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Jul 2017


Had an amazing time here! Shuzenji is a nice little town that was fairly quiet when I was there in July, and Arai is situated perfectly in the town by the river with an incredibly beautiful setting inside -- wooden flooring and bridges with koi ponds, small gardens, and wonderful rooms. The staff were all very friendly with a few of them speaking enough English for us to get by with my very limited Japanese, and the food was superb!

Kits

Ms. / Under 20 / Hong Kong

Family with Older Children

2.7
Room : 2.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 16 Jul 2017


This have been one of the worst expreiences I've had living in an onsen ryokan. It is highly overpriced with a tiny room, small and horribly equipped onsen and awful food.

Elle

Ms. / Under 20 / Austria

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Aug 2016


Our stay in Arai Ryokan was fabulous - it was a birthday gift to my husband. Our 9 year old son loved the experience of wearing the yukata, tasting the delicious kaiseki ryoori and of course trying the different beautiful onzens. The rotemburo (outside bath) was beautiful too. The very clean traditional hotel and the friendly staff made our stay that we will remember for a long time. Hope to be back soon! Thank you to all the staff members of Arai Ryokan to make our stay so beautiful.
In the neighbourhood are some lovely temples and we found a beautiful Chado (teahouse) on top of the hill. We even so the tip of Fuji san.

Del

Japan

Group

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Nov 2009


Friendly and efficient service in an historically interesting building made our stay here a pleasant one. The food was plentiful and delicious, and the Arai is located near Shuzenji Temple and pleasant bamboo groves providing opportunity for easy, enjoyable strolls in the area.

HC

Mr. / Under 20 / Hong Kong

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Jul 2019 Stayed 30 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan e路東瀛獨家方案


-very welcoming and helpful service from front desk staff
-room are clean and tidy
-food are well served and delicious
-very close to other tourist spots in Shuzenji
-Japanese garden in the hotel is beautiful

基督與召會

Ms. / 50-59 / Taiwan

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 May 2019 Stayed 28 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan ★e路東瀛JAPANiCAN獨家優惠!


無可取代的住宿經驗,我們是11月底來的,鋪天蓋地的紅葉,在房間內就能欣賞到。風呂每個都有特色,早晚餐都是在包廂內用餐,還有精選的西洋古典音樂相伴。第二天早上,穿著浴衣在溪流旁散步,實在太美了。住宿附近的虹之鄉,可以欣賞夜楓,一定要去。我一定會再回來住宿此間飯店,雖然價格不斐,但是每一分錢都值得

Mei

Ms. / 30-39 / Taiwan

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 14 Oct 2018 Stayed 07 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan ★e路東瀛JAPANiCAN獨家優惠!


旅館位置好、風景絕佳,餐點很精緻,服務也很周到,只是房務員的英文沒那麼流暢,溝通上比較困難一點。

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: