Asaba あさば

Reviews of Asaba

Total Score

4.8Based on 11 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.9 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.5 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.8

xiaolulu

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 25 Jul 2017


We had a mixed feeling about the Ryokan. Generally, it is a beautiful place, very quiet and clean. We were first very impressed by the service, both during the check-in and dining time. However, right before we were ready to go to sleep, we saw a huge spider (about 20 cm) moving very fast in the center of our room. My husband managed to kill it. I went to the front desk, and the night shift send someone to take the dead body away. I was unable to fall asleep that night, as we sleep on the tatami close to where the spider was killed. What surprised us is that until we checked out the next day, no staff have check with us if we wanted to move to another room, or even mentioned it. It made me feel that either this (having a huge spider in the room) happens all the time, or they just don't care about the guests' feeling that much.

HiIslands

Mr. / 60+ / United States of America (Hawaii)

Other

4.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Jan 2016


I write this review with truly mixed feelings. This is a beautiful ryokan in a nicely landscaped setting. We were treated well by the staff and, generally speaking, enjoyed our time there. My concern relates solely to the food. The menu, presentation and service were not consistent with a ryokan of this caliber. The dinner menu included, for example, chicken meatballs in soup and donburi. The appetizers and sashimi were sparse. The dessert consisted of two scoops of ice cream and a slice of melon. The dinner service was painfully slow, with up to twenty minutes between courses and the entire dinner taking over three hours. I do not consider the food service at Asaba to be consistent with the prices charged or any other aspect of this fine ryokan's operation. We expressed our concern and received a sincere apology from the staff, but I would probably not return.

Brad&Molly

Mr. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Jan 2016


top top top! We chose this as our first ever onsen experience and will now forever have to compare others to this. We went during January, which is a low season, and it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. Can't highly recommend enough. The staff are simply amazing and constantly looking after you. We'll cherish this memory for the rest of our lives and can't wait to return.

Mocube

Ms. / 60+ / France

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 May 2015


A dream of Japan
All was so wonderfull

唐师奶

Ms. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 Feb 2015


Subtle elegance with excellent taste. Expensive but worth every penny of it. Very attentive service. The only drawback is once you had stayed at Asaba, it will be hard to go back to other original onsen ryokan. 在你住过Asaba'以后,其它温泉旅馆都成为将就。

Akemi Wu

Taiwan

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 04 Apr 2012


We visited lots wonderful places in japan, this is the first one makes us plan the very next visit when we were still in there. A really quiet, peaceful, elegant and comfortable place.

撒米

Ms. / 30-39 / China

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Dec 2017 Stayed 16 Nov 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


日式温泉酒店的完美体验。各方面都非常棒,除了价格(哈哈),小伙伴们纷纷表示要再住一天

kira9112009

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Other

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Nov 2017 Stayed 24 Nov 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


说实话都很棒,真的是无可挑剔!服务人员也非常的热情,回来还会为我们准备毛巾

里脊糖醋了

Ms. / 20-29 / China

Other

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Jan 2017


无论从环境、房间、食物还是服务,都是极好的。完美假期。

katherinaer

Ms. / 20-29 / China

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Jun 2016


旅馆房间超美,温泉特别棒,在自己房间用的都是温泉水,料理惊艳。

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: