Notice
Due to system maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 7:00 JST on Dec. 16 (Thurs).
Beginning from Dec. 16, 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN.com will no longer support older versions of certain browsers and operating systems. Click here for more details. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 Dec. 31, 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 Jan. 3, 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Sagasawakan 嵯峨沢館

Reviews of Sagasawakan

Total Score

4.6Based on 21 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.7 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.9
Location : 4.2 Access : 4.1

Next 10

1 2 3

BlackBlessing

Mr. / 20-29 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Feb 2019 Stayed 28 Jan 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Amazing Inn, Great Environment, Facilities, Service, Location, Rooms, Dinner.
We took a 3 hour trip from Tokyo to visit Sagasawakan. Taking the Shinkansen, then train, then bus, we were pleasantly surprised to be greeted at the Bus Stop and guided into the Ryokan (taking in our luggage as well).
Room was traditional Japanese Style with Private Onsen. The room had an amazing view of the river, close enough to hear the water flowing. Great natural areas to rest and relax throughout the ryokan. At least 5 public onsens and 2 bookable onsens. The service was comparable to a 5 star hotel.
Dinner was another highlight. Easily comparable to Michelin star set courses I have had previously. Dinner had excellent quality food that was fresh and of high quality, there was great presentation, flow and explanations.
Sagasawakan is quite pricey, but completely worth it, blowing all my expectations away.
I highly recommend it, and will certainly be returning.

natca

Mr. / 20-29 / Hong Kong

Couple

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 17 Dec 2018 Stayed 19 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Absolutely wonderful baths, easy communication with english, and the food was great. The snacks durring coffee time were so tasty. This is one of our favorite Ryokans in the area.

Buehler

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Nov 2018 Stayed 09 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The staff was amazingly helpful and made extra effort to help my wife (who speaks no Japanese) with everything she needed. The location is easy to access but remote enough that the experience was 100 percent authentic!

Dusan

Mr. / 20-29 / Canada

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 May 2018 Stayed 25 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Great experience at Sagasawakan! Service was excellent, baths were in great condition, food was delicious and the room was had a peaceful private bath and great reading chairs overlooking the stream.

Rayquaza

Mr. / 20-29 / Japan

Other

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Feb 2018 Stayed 16 Feb 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


I have stayed in quite a few ryokan before, but this was the most impressive one. The open-air bath Kawa no Yu was hands down the best part: the view, the fact that few people use it due to the ryokan only having a few rooms. Everything felt perfectly new and clean. Sagasakawan also has many places to relax, including a lovely terrace with a view on the river. I couldn't recommend this place enough and am already thinking of when to go back next year...!

DF

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Nov 2017


My partner and I loved our stay at Sagasawakan. The hospitality was amazing, the food was delicious, and the amenities were exactly as we had hoped. We particularly liked the way the grounds merged with nature-- the ryokan felt very open and as though it belonged in its space. We recommend opting for the optional yukata and samue, which cost a bit extra but are lovely to have during your stay. We stayed in a Japanese-style room and found the bedding to be very comfortable. We also appreciated the reasonably priced mini-bar in the room and the opportunity to get coffee or tea during the day. We loved the massage chairs as well, which are very high quality and open to all guests.

Our one request is that they remove shark fin from the dinner menu, as we don't agree with the practice of harvesting shark fins. Under this condition, we would be thrilled to stay at Sagasawakan again.

JP

Mr. / 50-59 / Germany

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2017


absolutely perfect in every way.

Livio

Mr. / 50-59 / Japan

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2017


Very comfortable and high quality accommodation. Great service and food. Excellent onsen facilities - including all rooms with private outdoor hot bath :-). Reasonably within reach from central Tokyo (took us less than 2 hours with Shinkansen from Shinagawa + private hire car from Mishima).

Bird

Mr. / 30-39 / Thailand

Couple

4.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 2.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 02 Dec 2016


Excellent room and private outdoor hot spring service. Food and service was excellent.
The only setback is that it takes quite a travel to get to the hotel from Narita airport.

KrystaP

Ms. / 20-29 / Canada

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 Nov 2016


Amazing and friendly staff- we had no trouble communicating in English. The onsen were beautiful and we enjoyed trying them all. Kaiseki dinner each night was fantastic! I recommend getting the room with a private bath, it was really nice. Thought the room would be a bit more modern looking but was still nice. Great location to stop on the way from Tokyo to Kyoto, easy to take the bus from Shuzenji. Worth the splurge!

Next 10

1 2 3

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: