Shimoda Tokyu Hotel 下田東急ホテル

Reviews of Shimoda Tokyu Hotel

Total Score

4.3Based on 13 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.1 Service : 4.3
Food : 4.1 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.6 Access : 3.9

Germany

Other

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 22 Dec 2011

Japan

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 06 May 2013


Excellent service

Germany

Couple

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 17 Feb 2013

Yves

Mr. / Under 20 / France

Couple

4.4
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 Oct 2018 Stayed 29 Sep 2018 Meals Breakfast only
Room Type Twin room

Docjapan

Germany

Group

4.4
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 06 Dec 2012


Rooms (we had western style, twin) ok & clean, with a good sized bathroom. We had ocean view, which is really beautiful. Very nice staff, very friendly and helpful. I did not use the onsen. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choices, japanese and western style, good coffee! We did not take dinner in the hotel. Location might be a bit difficult to find, but with Navi or Google Earth/Maps no problem. Also, the hotel offers a shuttle service which we did not use as we traveled by motorbike.

André BARD

France

Couple

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 12 Apr 2012


Nous avions la chambre 625 au 6ème étage, non fumeur. Chambre propre, lits convenables,salle de bains propre et fonctionnelle. La vue sur la baie est superbe, le personnel dévoué comme souvent au Japon. Le petit déjeuner est correct, et l'ensemble d'un bon rapport qualité:prix.
Seul point noir : le restaurant au dîner. Les plats sont bien cuisinés, mais à des prix délirants qui rapidement, font doubler le prix de la chambre.
Sans cela, nous conseillons cet hôtel que nous avons trouvé très supérieur aux avis donnés.

Hong Kong

Couple

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 06 Jul 2009


The location of the hotel is excellent, with a good view of the ocean and nearby islands. The staff are very helpful. The breakfast provides a variety of food choices.

DS

Mr. / Under 20 / United States of America

Family with Young Children

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 06 Jul 2015


We stayed in this hotel in July and had a very nice time. Our room was twin size 35 sq meter with view mtn and ocean. They had a baby bed crib already set up in the room. We enjoyed the outside Onsens. We did not get breakfast since it is more geared towards Japanese taste -- but if they provided more western options and more cooked eggs cereal etc. In the future We might have try it.
The staff was very friendly and some even spoke English well. Parking was easy and we thought it was easy to find. I would recommend.
Location was close to everything. Easy with a car. Wish they had more snack offerings at lower prices, coffee etc.

Ann

Ms. / 40-49 / Switzerland

Family with Older Children

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 04 Apr 2016


Pleasant location, however transportation is quite expensive to get to it (JR Pass available only up to Ito). Standard room for 3 a bit small but with a nice sea view. Breakfast buffet with plenty of choice. Kind and competent staff.

pc

Mr. / 60+ / Singapore

Married Couple

3.6
Room : 2.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 May 2019 Stayed 22 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room


1. Room and toilet had poor exhaust ventilation as air conditioning temperature and fan are not working well
2. Dinner is excellent and good breakfast spread
3. Frequent shuttle bus access to Shimoda station and English speaking concierge is definitely a big plus for us.
4. Hot Spring: did not use.

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: