Notice
Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 31 December 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 3 January 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Yutorelo-an 四季を愉しむ貸切温泉 ゆとりろ庵

Reviews of Yutorelo-an

Total Score

4.1Based on 39 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.2 Service : 4.2
Food : 3.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.1 Access : 3.9

Next 10

1 2 3 4

sman

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Sep 2019 Stayed 13 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Premium Kaiseki Course Dinner + Free Private Open-air Bath Session Plan


We stayed at the Yutorelo-an and it was everything we had hoped for. The room was a good, clean traditional style Japanese Room. The Kaiseki dinner was a very adventurous meal for us as American tourist. The private bath session was very relaxing. The hotel is near the Gora Cable Car which is covered by the Hakone FreePass. The area is very quiet which is perfect for a relaxing onsen ryokan experience.

Kirsten

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 06 Jan 2019 Stayed 29 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Private Bath Session & Gourmet Kaiseki Course Dinner Plan


We had a relaxing and invigorating stay at Yutorelo-an. We most enjoyed the private open-air bath session, which featured a bath accommodating two to three people, a shower and a sink, located in a small garden. The gourmet dinner was delicious, but if you are a light eater I would recommend skipping lunch - there are several courses and it's easy to get full after the first set of plates. The public bath is indoors and the women's side includes sinks and blow dryers, then showers next to the bath. We enjoyed the tatami beds in our room and indulged in a beautiful view of the mountains in Hakone. The staff is accommodating and helpful. We would recommend taking advantage of the bag drop service at Hakone-Yumoto station, as there are steep hills throughout the town that are difficult to ascend with heavy bags. The closest cable car station is the Naka Gora station. Be sure to look up excursions, such as the Open Air Museum and Mt. Kintoki, and plan ahead.

Xavier

Mr. / 40-49 / France

Family with Young Children

3.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 20 Aug 2018 Stayed 12 Aug 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Special room
Plan Private Bath Session & Gourmet Kaiseki Course Dinner Plan


We had a top floor room with a supposed open-air bath. The view is ok but not amazing and the open-air is a small bathtub (you cannot spread your legs). The food (gourmet kaiseki plan) is in great quantity but not as fine as we could have found in other places in Japan. Be aware it is mostly fish even for breakfast. We had difficulties in finding the hotel and we had never been able to call the hotel at the number given (and the GPS working with phone number did not know as well). I did not find the staff friendly nor helpfull. No one ever told me there was an alternative path without stairs while I was with big pieces of luggage. The hotel is ok but it is more a hotel than a ryokan, it is not a charming hotel, it is far form the center of Hakone if you do not have a car, and the value for money is bad.

pol

Mr. / 20-29 / Argentina

Couple

3.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 04 Apr 2018 Stayed 02 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan Private Bath Session & Gourmet Kaiseki Course Dinner Plan

vj

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Friends

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Apr 2017


Amazing place with an Amazing friendly service

A

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 May 2016


My friend and I had such a wonderful stay at Yutorelo. The staff did not speak much English but were still very helpful and accommodating. We were given Yukatta and had a number of options of designs to choose from. The bathing facilities were nice and clean, and quite enjoyable. We also used the outdoor baths and even though it was raining it was still quite relaxing and very beautiful. I would definitely recommend Yutorelo to my friends.

valiss

Ms. / 20-29 / Singapore

Couple

4.2
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 14 Apr 2016


We love our room located on the top floor with an ensuite outdoor hot tub. The room was very big and provided both Japanese styled futons and western styled beds. The hot tub does not supply real hot spring waters, but the water was hot enough to soak in the cold weather. The ryokan provided very good service: there was a basket for us to bring our valuables around the ryokan, outdoor hot spring foot bath + a selection of yukata for us to choose from + private outdoor hot spring + free flow hot drinks, buns and chocolate fondue + massage chairs. The dinner had many different dishes for us to have a sampling of the fine Japanese cuisine. The surroundings of the ryokan was secluded and our room had a view of the mountains. The ryokan was not very accessible by public transport as it was located up on a very steep slope. Luckily they provided free shuttle service which solved the problem. Overall we had a pleasant stay at the ryokan though the price is a little steep.

Audrey

Ms. / 20-29 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 05 Mar 2016


Yutorelo-an is literally the first accommodation you will see when you alight at Nakagora station, but what's better is that they greet you with a warm chocolate fondue at the lounge so you can thaw your frozen hands before checking in at the front desk! The room was brightly-lit, tidy and had a great view of the forest. Ensuite bathroom was clean and furnished with all the toiletries you can possibly ask for (even conditioner and facial serum)! Would have been better if the staff could prepare the futons for us instead, because we were absolutely clueless. The gourmet kaiseki dinner was elaborate, but not so big on taste. Overall, Yutorelo-an is a great place to stay in. However, there isn't much to do in the neighborhood, so one night's stay is sufficient for the ryokan experience.

ale

Mr. / 30-39 / Italy

Solo Traveler

3.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 2.0 Access : 1.0
Reviewed 30 Aug 2015


very good ryokan but no wi fi connections

Marina

Ms. / Under 20 / Singapore

Family with Young Children

1.7
Room : 1.0 Service : 1.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 1.0
Reviewed 09 Jun 2015


The service is rude by Japanese or actually any standards. VERY shabby hotel, no room service, Open-air bath in the room is not a hot spring bath and the water in the room was lukewarm at best. Private bath facilities are very basic, not even a chair to sit on. Beware that description of location is misleading. It says 5 min from the station, but actually it is 30 min walk from the proper station. The other one, used for description, closes at 6 pm. This hotel had nothing in common with proper ryokan, feels like some sort of middle of the nowhere motel for the truck drivers. Completely mispriced.

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: