Notice
Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 31 December 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 3 January 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Hakone Setsugetsuka 箱根強羅温泉季の湯雪月花

Reviews of Hakone Setsugetsuka

Total Score

4.5Based on 565 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.4
Food : 3.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.4
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.7

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

ac

Mr. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Family with Young Children

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 1.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 12 Oct 2019 Stayed 09 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan Summer Sale (Ends 8/1)


Service was below standard. There was minimum explanation when we checked in. No one led us to our room and no tea was served. We need to make the futon ourselves. Overall the least value for money Onsen hotel we ever had.

Love2Travel

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Couple

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 10 May 2019 Stayed 15 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


Spent just the one night at the hotel with my partner, as at almost $500Aud it is not a cheap stay.We chose a Western style Japanese room, which was clean and spacious. Did not like the fact there were 2seperate beds and unable to have 1 queen. We had a small hot tub on our balcony which was lovely and private. Did not use the communal hot springs but tried the private ones,they were full most of the time, even at 10pm. Felt a little dirty using them and only stayed for 15mins as too hot to handle for us. The location is fantastic, 2mins walk to the train station and funicular. Loved the inclusion of the traditional clothing as really made the experience. The only major letdown was the included dinner and breakfast. They did their best to accommodate me as a Vegetarian but the food was extremely bland and almost inedible, the tofu hot pot was disgusting!For an experience at this price would expect much more. Apart from that a lovely stay.

Darren

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Couple

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 25 Apr 2019 Stayed 13 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


Getting to the place was pretty easy, just quite a trip -- from the Odiwara station, the Hakone Tozan takes you there with one transfer on the same line. Once you arrive at the small GORA station, Hakone Setsugetsuka is only a short walk away. Check-in was easy since the reception spoke English and offered a few guides to assist our stay, but mostly everything else has limited English. There are two public baths and one private (non-reservable) on premise. You also have an option to have an in-suite open air bath, which must be filled yourself. The room we stayed in had obvious wear, but nothing drastic. Both the dinner and breakfast were course meals that were very Japanese traditional dishes. They were tasty, but I've had better course meals at other stays. The onsens were ample sizes and open for most of the night, allowing those who are shy to visit at off-peak hours. For the price, I'd say it was a nice experience, but I'd opt for something nicer.

MM

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Married Couple

2.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 2.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 17 Apr 2019 Stayed 10 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan 2 to 6-Night Stay Discount


Don't be fooled by the fancy photos! This hotel is actually rundown. We had a lot of wear & tear in our room and around the rest of the property. Everything looked very 'used'. The room was a generous size and the onsen was decent. The location was easy from Gora station as it's literally in front of the station, so it was noisy with the train coming and going. The food was not good and you have no flexibility with choice - you get what they give you. Anything more cost $$$. We had to beg for a bowl of white rice and glasses of water! The food did not vary night to night. Shabu shabu the first night and shabu shabu the second night! We didn't even try the breakfast since we had heard such bad things. The free wifi they give you is useless, hardly a signal. My husband and I booked this for our anniversary, but we were let down as it did not live up to the photos and our expectations. It is not worth the price you pay!

HeiFi

Mr. / 60+ / Germany

Couple

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 09 Apr 2019 Stayed 02 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


For international Guest an alternate breakfast offer (western style) will be better. Even only coffee and Sandwich will be fine.

Mike

Mr. / 20-29 / Japan

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 23 Dec 2018 Stayed 21 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


Beautiful onsen ryokan, we chose the room with private outdoor bath: big room, confortable bed, good amenities and the private bath is nice for the night when you may want more privacy. The public onsen baths were beautiful and not crowed and it was quite easy also to go in the 3 private onsens available without any reservation. I have to say that I was expecting them to be beautiful but in real life they looked even more beautiful than in photographs.

Shia

Ms. / 40-49 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Dec 2018 Stayed 01 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


Good location as it is right next to the cable car station. Facilities and food are superb.

WT

Mr. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Married Couple

4.2
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 15 Oct 2018 Stayed 12 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


The room is nice but don’t have onsen in rooms but only hot bath. Very traditional Japanese style. Room is nice. Food is ok.

momhsu

Ms. / 60+ / United States of America

Friends

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : -
Reviewed 26 Aug 2018 Stayed 24 Aug 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


This is a big hotel. Can be chaotic during peak hours. Open bath does not mean hot spring in the room, only hot water.

Linda

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Family with Young Children

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 16 Aug 2018 Stayed 13 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


I came across Japanican.com while I was searching for a hotel in Hakone. I am very happy and satisfied during my two nights stay here. Location is easy, food was good and service was exceptional. I have three kids under age of 10 during my stay and the staff catered as much as they can with food selection. It would be easier if the menu includes spaghetti.
Room is good size except its a little out of date, but that was no issue.
I hope to stay here again in near future.

The only issue I have was not knowing a fee using the hot spring.

Stay in June 2018
Family of 8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: