Notice
Beginning from Dec. 16, 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN.com will no longer support older versions of certain browsers and operating systems. Click here for more details. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 Dec. 31, 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 Jan. 3, 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Gora Kadan 強羅花壇

Reviews of Gora Kadan

Total Score

4.6Based on 21 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.2 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.6 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3

Michael

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Oct 2019 Stayed 18 Feb 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Superb service, but a little expensive. Maybe because it's Hakone... The hotel/room doesn't have much of a view.

Joan

Ms. / 40-49 / China

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Jan 2019 Stayed 13 Jan 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This hot spring resort is definitely one of the best I ever tried in Japan, from facility, design, service and food perspectives. Our hotel assistant Kaku is very considerate in making our stay a very pleasant experience.

Sea-Way

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Jun 2018 Stayed 17 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


One of my favourite experience! Our room service lady, Sei, was so friendly and helpful. The room, the view from the Cafe and rest area, the family style hot spring and everything is just perfect. Highly recommended for anyone who want a luxury and very local experience and anyone who want a full relaxation away from the noise.

Singh

Mr. / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 May 2018 Stayed 23 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Having paid over £900 (JPY 158000) per night, yet no welcome drink - we had to pay for our coffee upon arrival. The room wasn't that great or impressive, and needs serious revamp. Overall the staff was good but not warm, management was a little arrogant considering the history of the place, its location and the fact that this was an Japan ex-royal family retreat.

We would not recommend it, the money is better spent elsewhere. Extremely expensive for what it is.

adashel

Ms. / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

3.0
Room : 2.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Jan 2018 Stayed 26 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Visit started well, good service and beautiful facility at first glance.

However, ryokans are supposed to be quiet and peaceful. Both dinners were interrupted by baby/children constantly crying. Spoilt the entire experience. At the price they are charging, they should not take in kids under 10 like many other places in Japan.
Also a cockroach was found in the room during our second night dinner!
Visited at the start of winter, the public indoor baths were very cold as it was a big room with a high ceiling.

Will not return. Do not want noisy children or cockroaches during stay.

Mocube

Ms. / 60+ / France

Couple

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Ying

Ms. / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Couple

3.7
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 22 Feb 2015


Beautiful Ryokan, out of the world hot springs. There is not a lot to say about the room we were in - we were in the basic Japanese style room. There was a lot of food, some of extremely good quality and some average. The service however was excellent. quite a bit out of the way and quite expensive for what it is.

D M

Mr. / 50-59 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Apr 2014


Much to expensive for what it is . Nice people ,good service ,great food . The pool needs an urgent renovation ,and so are the
Rooms . After they charge a crazy amount of money ,they charged us $5 for an Orange .

Ann

Singapore

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Dec 2013


Excellent service. They picked us up fro Gora station (which is actually very near about 3 min walk) because it was drizzling and after we checked out, they sent our baggage to Gora station after our sightseeing.
Ryokan serves excellent food prepared with freshest ingredients.
Nice, quiet and romantic hotel for couples. They had a lovely semi-open air family bath which can be reserved for use at no extra charge after which you may rest and relax in the salon with massage chairs and drinks (no extra charge).
Really top of the class service and quality.

Singapore

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Nov 2009

Next 10

1 2 3

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: