Notice
Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 31 December 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 3 January 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Hakone Mizunoto 箱根小涌谷温泉水の音

Reviews of Hakone Mizunoto

Total Score

4.5Based on 82 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.3 Access : 4.1

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Charmander

Mr. / 30-39 / United Kingdom

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Jun 2019 Stayed 18 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


Fantastic place with impeccable service. Food is perfect. An ideal place to get out from the buzz of a metropolitan city.

Families vacation

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Family with Young Children

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 04 Jun 2019 Stayed 02 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


Excellent services. Everyone was very helpful and very accommodable, specially we are a group of 20.

Pera

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 May 2019 Stayed 24 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


Hakone Mizunoto offers a fantastic overall onsen experience for guests visiting the Hakone area. My partner and I opted for the guest room with a private onsen with daily breakfast + dinner. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

During the day we were able to easily access the nearby tourist sites such as the Hakone Open-Air Museum. Hakone Mizunoto's staff were kind and helpful. For guests who cannot speak Japanese, please note that some of the staff members are able to guide you in English. The food was authentic Japanese and very filling. Each meal was a delight.
If you're considering a luxurious visit to Hakone, be sure to consider Hakone Mizunoto. I would definitely book here again!

Ai

Ms. / 30-39 / Singapore

Group

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 15 Apr 2019 Stayed 04 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


The ryokan is quite far from Kowakidani Station so please call ryokan to pick you up if you are outside picking hours. There is a bus stop Ninitaira Iriguchi (before 7-11), around 5 minutes walk to Ryokan.
The ryokan establishment is smaller than I have imagined. Maybe because the location is a bit far from touristy area, make it a very peaceful environment. Especially like the resting area near the reception, with balcony with green scenery. The onsen is not crowded and they will change the male and female onsen on alternate day. The snacks before dinner is a plus. The only disappointment is the BBQ dinner. The quality of the bbq food is really below exoectation. How they operate is like a high end canteen. I hope it can change to traditional Kaiseki then this will make the stay perfect. However I have to say the breakfast is over expectation and I enjoyed it very much. So far the best breakfast of my ryokan stay.

CC

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

3.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 11 Apr 2019 Stayed 02 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


BATH in room - there was rust on the pipes/faucet and moldy green stuff on the wood. I've stayed in other hotels where they route the hotsprings water to your room, this wasn't it. We didn't use the public bath (tattoos) & didn't have time to try the private baths.

FOOD - some local delicacies were enjoyable, but it just didn't wow me. The yakiniku course was mostly seafood with a tiny bit of chicken, pork, beef that was wagyu but wasn't very tender/fatty.

SERVICE - good. U can get a couples massage in ur room for $60 USD ea. They have free snacks, drinks/ramen but only at specific times. Store on the 2nd floor is a nice touch. They don't speak much English/no English menus jfyi

Not bad as a first onsen experience, easy to get to from train station via private shuttle, walking distance to museum. But having been to other establishments it was a let down for me especially for the higher price we paid due to it being busy season. All in all it was very average.

KKou

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Jan 2019 Stayed 03 Jan 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan 2 to 6-Night Stay Discount


Everything about this hotel was top notch, the rooms (we stayed in the west-building which was also newer than the east) were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff were superb and helpful towards non-Japanese speakers. The food was easily better than a lot of food you'd find in decent Japanese restaurants. The hot springs were well kept, easy to access, and perfectly convenient. Maybe it was the times that we tried to onsen, but there was never a line to access an onsen. The resort takes a while to get to during peak travel times from Odawara station but it was never frustrating because the scenery is also beautiful and relaxing. It was 100% worth the effort and monetary splurge to getaway from modern Japanese cities by visiting this area as first timers.

Maddie

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Dec 2018 Stayed 05 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


We stayed here for our last night in Japan. It was a lovely experience, all the staff was very friendly and did there best with English while we tried our best at Japanese. Dinner had great atmosphere and was very delicious! We tried out our hot bath on our balcony and a private onsen bath outside. Over all a fantastic night and would come back again.

3 monkeys

Mr. / 40-49 / Australia

Family with Older Children

3.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 14 Dec 2018 Stayed 12 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


mediocre for a japanese standard. definitely not a japanese hospitality. felt the dinner and breakfast were rushed. the kaiseki dinner was not up to standard. expected more for a kaiseki (very expensive japanese dinner). location is not ideal. away from easy access to train/
bus - difficult with heavy luggage’s although the hotel does provide shuttle to the trains train only. bottom line - will we come back again. unfortunately not.

Suzuki

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Group

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Aug 2018 Stayed 27 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


I really don’t want to write this review because of how amazing this place is. I’m afraid it will attract more people, which would make it crowded. It’s truly a hidden gem. From all the great free snacks, milk, ramen, and etc to the amazing dinner we had; this place cannot be beat. I will now always be staying here every time I go to visit Japan. It’s by far my favorite and I’ve been to almost every hotspring town in Japan.

Chezza

Ms. / 40-49 / Australia

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Apr 2018 Stayed 04 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Absolute stunner of a location! very relaxing and serene especially with the sound of the flowing / dripping water in the hotel. Spending 2 nights was an amazing but ephemeral experience! Great place to stay on the outskirts of Tokyo i.e. 1 hour from Tokyo. I will definitely visit again!

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: