Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site.


Konansou 湖南荘

Reviews of Konansou

Total Score

4.6Based on 555 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.7 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.5 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.5
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.6

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

J.Hardy

Mr. / 20-29 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 15 Oct 2019 Stayed 02 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Great Ryokan with amazing kaiseki dinner and nice onsen baths. Only criticism would be that the rooms and hotel in general are starting to show their age and could do with a freshen up given the price paid. Despite this, the Fuji views are incredible and make the hotel a perfect base for a short stay in Kawaguchiko.

R and M

Mr. / 40-49 / Qatar

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Oct 2019 Stayed 06 Oct 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This was our best stay of our whole trip in Japan. We were trying to find the most affordable ryokan/onsen stay near Mt. Fuji and we found Konansou. Everything was exceeded our expectation. And though the staff did not speak much English, their hospitality and helpfulness were outstanding. The private open bath/onsen was awesome and big enough for 2 (my husband and I) to enjoy together. The public onsen was also great. Dinner was excellent (there was no negative comment at all from my husband... he is a chef btw...). The location was also good as it took us only 10 mins (for a nice walk in a good weather) from the train station. The hotel also had a complementary pick-up service from the train station if you did not want to walk. What I loved the most was the provided yukata from the hotel (complementary to wear during the stay... not to take home unfortunately).

Mr&Mrs.Kwak

Mr. / 20-29 / France

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Sep 2019 Stayed 09 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Our trip at the hotel was wonderful, the room was stunning and the service very helpful.
The dinner was copious and the breakfast was very diversified.

Our private Onsen was outside and naturally there were spiders and bugs near it. So we didn't fully appreciate it, which was a bit of a disappointment for the price we paid (over 500€)

Nevertheless the hotel service dropped us at the Toyota rent a car at our demands for free.

We fully recommend the Konansou Hotel !

debdeb

Ms. / 50-59 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Sep 2019 Stayed 06 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan [End of Spring Sale] Local Sake Brewed with Mt. Fuji Spring Water with Dinner Plan


An excellent place to relax. Beautiful location, meticulously maintained premises, wonderful staff, and delicious food. We enjoyed our stay.

John M.

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Jul 2019 Stayed 16 Jul 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Local Sake Brewed with Mt. Fuji Spring Water with Dinner Plan


This is probably the best hotel experience we ever had. The staff was very friendly and helpful even though our Japanese is not very good. The hotel was clean and beautiful. The food was great, and you will be very full after each meal (I still feel bad we couldn’t eat it all). A special mention to Hikari, our hostess. She was exceptional. She even brought medicine when she noticed I had a cough. The private Onsen was great and the view of Mount Fuji was priceless. Well worth the money and travel time.

npeng

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Jul 2019 Stayed 17 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [Tokyo Area Sale]Local Sake Brewed with Mt. Fuji Spring Water with Dinner Plan


Amazing place, attentive staff, great food. The whole experience is so great that I am willing to come back again the next time I go to Japan.

Wis

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Jul 2019 Stayed 30 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [End of Spring Sale] Shunsai Shiki Dinner with Ise Lobster Sashimi & Beef Shabu-Shabu Plan


We love this place. My family enjoyed every minute we spent there. The service was superb. The food was phenomenal. This place is worth every penny.

JoieNsk

Ms. / 40-49 / United States of America

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : -
Reviewed 22 Jun 2019 Stayed 23 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room
Plan [December Sale]Local Sake Brewed with Mt. Fuji Spring Water with Dinner Plan


Great experience! Great room, food, service - everything. We were extremely lucky with the weather: all two days we were able to see Fuji-San very clear. When I will be back to Japan with my husband sometime – I will make sure we will come to Konansou together! I will leave more detailed review on Tripadvisor, as here there is not enough of space for a detailed review.

EC

Ms. / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 May 2019 Stayed 09 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Shunsai Shiki Dinner with Ise Lobster Sashimi & Beef Shabu-Shabu Plan


Had the best experience at Konansou! Booked the room with in-room hot spring bath and we literally spent the entire time in the room admiring the view of mount fuji and enjoying the experience. The dinner was wonderful and we were so happy with the service of the hostess who was providing us the service. Only regret is we only stayed one night. Would come back again in future as it's really a great great experience for us.

Naomi

Ms. / 30-39 / Australia

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 May 2019 Stayed 14 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Local Sake Brewed with Mt. Fuji Spring Water with Dinner Plan


Quite simply breathtaking! The view of Mt Fuji, the exceptional staff and the delicious food - this place was heaven!

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: