Notice

From 2:00 AM 28 November 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN will no longer offer tour and activity bookings, including "Things to Do," "Entertainment," and "Transport" bookings, as part of our site.


Wakakusa no Yado Maruei 若草の宿丸栄

Reviews of Wakakusa no Yado Maruei

Total Score

4.4Based on 203 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.5 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.4 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.4
Location : 4.3 Access : 4.2

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Eileen

Ms. / 50-59 / Singapore

Friends

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 13 Sep 2019 Stayed 09 Sep 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan 2 to 6-Night Stay Discount


Room was clean and new. Water from shower tap was not strong enough, so showered at the onsen most of the time.

VP

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 06 Aug 2019 Stayed 27 Jul 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We were received into the ryokan our exhausted (& drenched) state after climbing Mt Fuji with a nice warm welcome drink. This is a beautiful ryokan with really spacious Japanese style rooms, our half-board meals were exquisite and staff from check-in to meal services ware super helpful & friendly. The best thing is the fuji view or Kawaguchiko view outdoor onsens! So oooo relaxing for a stay after our intensive Mt Fuji climb. Couldn't ask for more!

Eddie

Mr. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Family with Young Children

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 01 May 2019 Stayed 24 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Overall is very good. if they can provide some English explanation to your food. There will be much more better

Shirubiya

Ms. / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Apr 2019 Stayed 21 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


The private onsen in our bedroom is too small and looks uninviting to dip into. The water temperature in the outdoor onsen was too cold. The food can be served one by one to guests so that it can stay warmer & time can be taken to explain in detail what each food is. More alcohol varieties can be sold at the hotel's souvenier shop. Other wise our experience is great. Love our Japanese style room, the cleanliness and the service.

Annabelle

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Apr 2019 Stayed 27 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The service was impeccable, the food was delicious and the views were breathtaking. Highly would recommend Wakakusa no Yado Maruei and will definitely return.

S-inTokyo

Ms. / 40-49 / Australia

Friends

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 04 Apr 2019 Stayed 01 Apr 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The hotel is located away from the busy station area and right by the lake side with a beautiful view towards Mt Fuji from the 5th floor baths and the viewing platform on the 6th floor.

Shardy

Mr. / 20-29 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 28 Mar 2019 Stayed 23 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Fantastic place. It was a great place to treat yourself to once every now and then.

GC

Ms. / 30-39 / Hong Kong

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 19 Feb 2019 Stayed 15 Feb 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Nice hotel!!! Nice scenery on the rooftop!! Very relaxing

cmerrell37

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Jan 2019 Stayed 26 Dec 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [Only 5 Rooms Per Day] Special Floor Nonohanatei Guest Room Plan


We had a wonderful overnight near Mt. Fuji. We called as we arrived at the train station and the shuttle arrived shortly after. We were lead to a sitting area with Matcha and a tea cake so that we didn't have to wait in line to check in, it was so lovely! We paid a little extra for a premium, traditional Japanese room and it was so worth it! We felt really immersed in the experience. The private onsen on the room does have windows and then a single screen separating you from the view of Mt. Fuji, but it was spectacular regardless. If you're new to onsens, be sure to ask about how to adjust the temperature, it was hot! The food was delicious and elaborate with a lot of new things to try. We were very lucky and you could see Mt. Fuji. The viewing deck on the roof and the lake were major highlights.

Jr

Mr. / 50-59 / Singapore

Couple

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 Dec 2018 Stayed 29 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan 2 to 6-Night Stay Discount


Genuine warm Japanese hospitality. We stayed 3 nights and the ryokan made an effort to ensure we had different dinners and breakfasts each time. Room was spacious with semi open outdoor bath. Situated a little away from the touristy attractions of Lake Kawaguchi but this also means the ryokan is in a quiet and peaceful environment. Rather pricey but still highly recomended.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: